Monitor Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Default Monitor Problem

I recently had an adjustment made to my system by Microsoft that cured the problem I was experiencing.

But ever since then, I frequently get a black screen on my monitor that has the following message:

Analog Input

Cannot display this video mode

Optimum Resolution 1280 x 1024 60hz

If I shut the computer down, it comes back on in the safe mode. I then start the computer and there is no problem.

Suggestions please.
__________________

POrseck is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 11:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor Problem

Hello,

Are you running Windows XP or Windows Vista? Have you got the latest set of drivers for your video card? Have you gone into your Display settings and adjusted them for the suggested specs?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor Problem

yes i think adjusting ur specs to what the big black screen says would be a good idea...as it is a big black screen. Try it.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Monitor Problem

I am using Windows Vista. When I went to Display Settings, monitor was 1024x 768.

Going to the 1280 x 1024 setting made everything smaller.

Have I not done something correctly?

Thank you all for your help.
POrseck is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor Problem

Hello,

Yes thigns will get smaller. That is a much higher resolution. But that is the native resolution for the LCD monitor.

If things are to small you can always adjust the size of the font and icons to be larger for your personal use.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 01:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor Problem

yes setting the res higher will make things smaller, i personally like my monitor on it's highest res. Also like mak said, you can change practically the size of anything on windows.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Monitor Problem

I have tried several times to get the proper font size; using the custom DPI setting 150% (144 DPI) is too large and 142% (136 DPI) is too small.

Any other suggestions?
POrseck is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor Problem

Helo,

Right click on your desktop. Select Properties. In there screen select Theme. In there select the option to select the classic Theme selector. In there you can click Advanced. That screen will look like this:



There select Item and pick some of the ones with Fonts and adjust the size to what you want. That will be much easier than what you are trying to do.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Monitor Problem

Have tried different formats (My Current Theme, Aquarium, etc.) without being able to stabilize the size properly.

I'm thinking when the Microsoft fixed my earlier problem, it knocked the settings off. I can't get a happy medium between too large and too small.
POrseck is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 05:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Monitor Problem

I like my res to be max recommended, but for your issue what is too small? if it's your internet you can usually hold ctrl and scroll your mouse and it will make the font bigger/smaller, i would do what mak said if you can't read the desktop items..
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.