Monitor / PC trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2005, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to Prelude92
Default Monitor / PC trouble

well i just bought a built a built pc with the following
*Dfi Sli-d Lan Party (socket 939) motherboard
*amd 3000+ venice processor
*Ati Radeon x850 xt pe w/ v700cu fan
*250 gig Western digital 7200 rpm sata drive
*Thermaltake Tsunami case (black with front cover) all aluminum with Forton Blue Storm Power supply 500 watt
*Corsair Xms pc 3200 Ram - 1 gig Dual channel
and 2 dvd burners.
my monitor is a dell 2405FPW 24-inch Wide Aspect Flat Panel LCD Monitor

***PROBLEM
i am using dvi-d to connect the monitor to the pc. there are times when the monitor flickers and a message displays DVI-D unable to display.. i have ideas of what can be goin on but im not to smart to know for sure. what i think is goin on is that the video card settings are set to high for the monitor to synch. up w/ the pc. or it could be that the monitor port could be faulty.. idk what to do to try and fix this.. ill try the vga port to see if the flickering will stop.. any ideas??
__________________

Prelude92 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

First, try unhooking and then reseating the DVI cable at both ends.'

If that doesn't get it, try setting your resolution to 1920 x 1200 (optimal resolution for your monitor).

If it won't, use this link for Dell's support page and driver download:
http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...sh/optimal.htm
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 10-04-2005, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to Prelude92
Default

i will do this tomorrow. ill update this as soon as i can.
Prelude92 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to Prelude92
Default

well i reseated the dvi-d cable and it seemed to work just fine but then resorted back to the same thing maybe an hour later... the monitor also had a vga port so i managed to connect that port to the pc and no flickering yet... i was wondering what difference between the two were...
here is what i know.. dvi is digital signals all the way. vga is analog... that is it. :-/
Prelude92 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 06:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

What you know is correct.

DVI is supposed to give a better picture, but so far I can't really tell a difference.

I'm just glad that you got it to work. It could be your cable, or the jack at either end...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 10-06-2005, 06:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to Prelude92
Default

well the pc portsure was not the issue since it works fine w/ the vga. the cable was brand new out of the box... i would have to guess it is the cable or the port on the monitor... would you reccomend fixing the dvi port on the monitor just to get make up for loses on the vga conversion from analog to digital? is it really worth fixing it?
Prelude92 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Leave it. As long as the other works...

Besides, it's usually cheaper to buy a new monitor than to repair an old one. Unless it is still covered by the warranty.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-24-2006, 09:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to Prelude92
Default

ok I think i know what the problem might be.. when i talked to the guy who sold me the monitor he told me that he also had issues w/ the same monitor(he has another) and told me that the cable was the bad apple.. so im looking for a cable but those things are not CHEAP..
__________________

Prelude92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.