Monitor not working on tower but works on other towers. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2012, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default Monitor not working on tower but works on other towers.

I need help.
First, i haven't used my Computer about 1 year, and when i use it My Monitor no signal shows up and goes to sleep. I tried to do some testing and had 2 hp towers, 1 hp monitor/1 samsung monitor, 2 hp laptops/1 toshiba laptop. I hooked up both towers to a monitor, and no signal so i switched both monitors and still no signal. Then I hooked up all laptops to both monitors and it worked. When I hooked up the towers again still no signal.
Do you guys have any suggestions on how I can fix it?
__________________

Killerken3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Milk_The_Elephnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England,west midlands
Posts: 87
Default Re: Monitor not working on tower but works on other towers.

do the Towers have graphics cards or are they on board graphics? or both?
are you sure the monitors are set to the right input?
__________________

Milk_The_Elephnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Monitor not working on tower but works on other towers.

What types of laptops or desktops do you have?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Monitor not working on tower but works on other towers.

I have 2 Hp laptop/1 toshiba laptop and 2 hp towers
Killerken3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Monitor not working on tower but works on other towers.

the Towers have graphics cards
Killerken3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Milk_The_Elephnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England,west midlands
Posts: 87
Default Re: Monitor not working on tower but works on other towers.

OK, so let me get this straight, you have two monitors, neither of which are working on either towers but both monitors work with all the laptops?
try switching the graphics cards between towers?

also, the model numbers/name of the towers would be useful.
__________________

Milk_The_Elephnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FAQ: List of "3U, 4U, 5U Rackable Towers" and "Full Tower" Chassis (Cases) for HPTX, MEB, and SWTX size Motherboards. 4P_Bulldozer New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-23-2011 12:34 AM
2 Towers, 1 Keyboard/Monitor/Mouse - Possible? SteveIgnorant Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 05-27-2010 07:00 PM
PC monitor not connecting to tower avfcalex Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2009 02:40 PM
Internet works then stops working? almightyobo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 11-03-2008 01:53 PM
Monitor Distance From Tower KOOLBRZ Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 06-21-2005 03:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.