Monitor Not Working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2006, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Question Monitor Not Working

I have just built my own computer for the first time and I turned it on and everything came on fine except for the monitor, which flashed the NO SIGNAL sign and then turned black. The light stayed orange, and I couldn't get it to work at all. Here are my parts:

Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...
Vid card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...
RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...
HDD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...
DVD writer: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...
CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...
Case: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...
Please help if you can! I am really dissapointed about this. Thanks.
__________________

toole13 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 12:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default

Your links are not working.

Did you doublecheck all the cables (monitor to computer, and monitor to outlet)?

Check the video card and make sure it is in the right slot, and seated properly. Is it PCI, AGP, ...?

If you have video onboard on the mobo, you will need to turn it off in the BIOS before your other video card will work properly.
__________________

__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I don't have onboard video, and my video card is a PCI express.
toole13 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

is it in slot 1 on the mobo? if it is a SLI or crossfire board. If the video card has two outputs on it make sure it is in the right one if there is a preference.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.