monitor not recieving signal from comp. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2008, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default monitor not recieving signal from comp.

I am having an issue with my computer im not sure what it is. It was working perfectly fine yesterday but today when i woke up and shook the mouse to get it back from sleeping, the monitor just stayed blank. I am not sure what went wrong but i went through the computer unplugged everything, cleaned the gpu, ram, hd and mobo with canned air and flashed the cmos for about 30min and plugged everything back and tried to reboot yet nothing came up. I plugged the monitor into my laptop and it worked so i dont think its the monitor.
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: monitor not recieving signal from comp.

u checked to make sure the video card wasn't wobbing right. there could be alot of dust in the cable going to the gpu (unlikely unless u unpluged it) do u have a spair gpu u can try it on to see if its the gpu,
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 01:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default Re: monitor not recieving signal from comp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
u checked to make sure the video card wasn't wobbing right. there could be alot of dust in the cable going to the gpu (unlikely unless u unpluged it) do u have a spair gpu u can try it on to see if its the gpu,
yeah like i said i air dusted the whole computer and took it apart and reassembled it. the vid card works cause i plugged it into a different comp so im thinking either my mobo fried or my cpu melted cause my water cooling system wasnt pumping any fluid through the system since i forgot to fill it up. im not sure what exactly is wrong with it.
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: monitor not recieving signal from comp.

i would say something overheated and was damaged then.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP ME!! Just built first comp bor3d System Upgrades 18 10-08-2007 05:41 PM
Soyo Dragon loses video signal Ltat42a Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-25-2007 03:55 PM
New comp doesnt turn on Gregz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 08-22-2007 07:07 PM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM
Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on. canadian37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-20-2007 12:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.