Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.< - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

O.k. I just bought the following:

Case:
APEVIA(ASP)|X-QPACK2-BK/500 RT

PSU:
500w (came with case)

Hard drive:
160G|WD 7K 8M SATA2 WD1600AAJS

CD Drive:
COMBO LITEON|SHC-52S7K-05 SATA BK

Motherboard:
ABIT AN-M2 nView 7025 AM2

Processor:
AMD|A64 X2 4200+ 65W AM2 1M R

Memory:
1Gx2|A-DATA ADQVE1A16K R

Video Card:
XFX PVT84JUDF3 8600GT 256MB R
---------------------------------------

My background:
Build 20+ systems
Computer Programmer
Fixed a lot of computers in the past

The gist of it all:
Ok, I got the parts 2days ago. I put it all together and the system booted up fine. First thing i did was change some bio's settings:
CDrom first boot
Changed the splash screen to none

Next I popped in Win XP Pro SP2, Install started out fine. when the computer needed to reboot, it did, and for some reason the monitor didn't come on...
I held down the power button and tried again. Nothing...

Things I thought was the problem, but isn't:
-- Reset the CMOS to see if that would fix the problem, and didn't work.

Power supply: I tried 2 different PSU's and neither of them worked for it. One of them was bigger: 600w the other one was a 500w

Video Card: Tried 2 different PCI-E VC's in it, same thing, monitor wasn't receiving any signal.

Ram: I bought 2 sticks of ram, tried one at a time, still nothing.
I don't have any other DDR2 ram to try, so I ran out of testing on that. (First system with DDR2 ram)

I removed the ram to see if the motherboard would do its Beeps. It did nothing.

Monitor: Tested it with the computer I'm using now and another one that has been using it. Works fine.

Processor: Checked out the processor, no burns on it, looks normal.

Motherboard: All looks normal, checked it out hard core.

-- When installing all hardware, I made sure to be grounded and static free.

So thats where I'm at. I have no idea what I'm missing; My guess is its the motherboard, but I wouldn't think it would be.

I hope I gave enough information >.>;
Any help would be great! Thank You

Icy
__________________

Icydeath is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

check if the audio cables that go to the motherboard are plugged in correctly same as the 1394a & the USB
you can also check the CMOS battery if its alive or not
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

Hello,

The ABIT AN-M2 nView 7025 AM2 has onboard graphics.

Try using the onboard VGA port with your monitor.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

I tried the onboard video (sorry, forgot to mention that)
Tried it without PCI-E card in, and just the onboard.

All the connections are plug in correctly, I just double checked and looked at
the MB manual to make sure.

`````````````````````

I'll try the CMOS battery.

thanx
Icydeath is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

Tried the CMOS battery, still nothing >.<

Do you think I have a faulty Motherboard?
Icydeath is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

might be the cheap power supply that came with the case (no offence) , check how much amps it runs under the +12v range. its labeled on the Power supply by a sticker

a computer like yours should be around 20a or more , if not then that can be your problem
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

I think Towers that come with a company's PSU shouldn't be used. Some usually die out before you can use it for more then past a week. You should switch out that manufacturer's PSU and get a name brand PSU. Preferably Antec.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 09:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

Well I tried my Thermalteck Powersupply 480w +12v_18a and that didn't work.
The one that came with the case is a 500w +12v_18a.

Do you really think that 2a can make that big of difference?
It was working at one point... then it crapped out on the reboot...
Icydeath is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 11:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

If the Video Card or PSU is not the problem, I think it is your motherboard (preferably your PCI-e slot). Try getting the exact same one and put everything back together and see how that runs. Otherwise, I don't see any other problem that can't make your monitor boot up.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 09:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.<

I did a complete **** up, very basic thing. On mine which I thought was dead...

I plugged into the On-Board card and got no signal, until some corrected me and I needed a DVI converter crap to plug into my 8800GTS.
__________________

__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless adapter receive signal rbmcfarlane Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-23-2007 01:03 PM
Signal Over Range? Very Weird Trick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-31-2007 01:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.