Monitor not being detected - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2008, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Cool Monitor not being detected

Am building a new PC, ATX, AMD 2 Athlon 6000 Dual Core Processor.

When it is turned on, power is being supplied as the fans are rotating, but the monitor has no signal.

The monitor is connected using the onboard video card.

Let me know what I am overlooking.

Thanks:confused
__________________

raulworth is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Monitor not being detected

have you reset the bios?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor not being detected

Do you see the BIOS Splash screen at all? Is the onboard video enabled?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Monitor not being detected

I have not reset the bios and there is never a flash screen on the monitor.

I don't know if the onboard video is enabled.

It is the same way it came when in the box.

I was looking at putting in a video card, as I have a few spare.
Not sure if this will fix the problem either.
raulworth is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 11:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor not being detected

I woudl try a Video Card if you have one to try. Sounds like the onboard is disabled.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Monitor not being detected

and reset the bios.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 12:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Have ATI Radeon 7500 All-in-one Wonder, and Saphire 9200.

The motherboard documentation insists on a PCI Express Graphics Card
All 3 slots PCIEX16, PCIEX1 and PCI1-2 look for PCI cards.

They run on DDR memory; the motherboard is DDR2.

They dont apprear to be compatible.

What is the best way to enable the onboard video, in this scenario.

Would the motherboard be able to handle the ATI Radeon 7500 ddr 256mb?

The motherboard uses ddr2 memory.

The video card is approximately 5 years old, maybe more
raulworth is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 01:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Monitor not being detected

As long as the mother board has the interface to connect with the Video Card it will work. They system can handle DDR2 System RAM. GFX RAM is different. There are cards out there now with GDDR5 RAM on the cards.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Monitor not being detected

I added a new video card and the monitor is still not detected.

The new card is 'ASUS GF8400GS PCI-E 256mb DDR2'

I disconnected the monitor and connected it to the laptop, and it got a status of 'not connected'.

Am hoping it is something to do with the monitor cables, as there is power going into the monitor.
__________________

raulworth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crashing pc daz6215 Overclocking and Modding 6 02-29-2008 12:35 PM
Second PCI card no detected in Windows khairilthegreat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-22-2007 01:46 PM
500gb HD detected as 127gb weewun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-30-2007 12:56 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
No Windows Media Player Detected Shub-Niggurath Internet Software and Browsers 3 05-18-2007 11:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.