Monitor No Signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2011, 09:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Monitor No Signal

I have tried searching for how to fix this problem but wasn't able to come up with anything. I am not computer illiterate but also not a whiz at this. I am getting a no signal on my monitor which was working before I tried to upgrade my cd-rom to a dvd-rom. I have tried the montior on 2 PC's with the same effect. I know the PC's are booting up as I can hear the start "music" from Windows booting up. The monitor had been changing to a weird sort of blue color for the last several months. Is it likely that now the monitor has just given up or should I be trying something else? I hate to spend the money on a new monitor if that is not the issue. The monitor is an LCD ProView and is only about 3 years old. Thanksf for any help you can provide.
__________________

leekbecker is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Monitor No Signal

Make sure your connections are tight. To your PC and monitor.

Could be your inverter going bad. Try shining a flashlight at the screen, at a 45* angle. If you can see the desktop, you need a new backlight.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 10:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Monitor No Signal

I forgot to mention I did check the connections on both ends, multiple times, hoping that's all it was....lol. Is a backlight something that can be replaced or would I be better of getting a new montor. Thanks.
leekbecker is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 10:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: http:\\www
Posts: 110
Default Re: Monitor No Signal

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Try shining a flashlight at the screen, at a 45* angle.
lol, never tried that one before... I could imaging you'd look like a crazy person trying to see where the little people hide
Axehack is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Monitor No Signal

Quote:
lol, never tried that one before...
That's actually the classic test for backlight or inverter failure. You can't really tell which has failed with this, but it does tell you if the monitor is getting and processing a signal or not. Newer LED LCDs don't use CCFL tubes or inverters, so this test won't work with them.

Parts are typically $50 to $150, depending on size of the screen and availability. Any reputable repair shop can do the job in 1 hour, 2 tops so from there, you can determine labor charges. That said, many shops charge a flat labor rate (plus parts) for replacing inverters and backlights, so call around. And there are some repair shops on-line that specialize in these repairs where you can send the monitor to.

If you are handy at these sort of things, you can fix it yourself - it is not really hard. In fact, figuring out how to open up the monitor's case is often the biggest challenge. There are many good tutorials.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Monitor No Signal

I had to do change a backlight myself on a laptop. It was a chore.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 11:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Monitor No Signal

Notebook monitors are a bit different because notebooks are so proprietary and compact. But a reputable repair shop does this all the time so while still a chore, an experienced technician knows what to expect, has picked up a few tricks, has the right tools handy, and knows the correct strategic placement for his tongue. A regular monitor is much easier to pop open because the back is the back, and not some decorative cover.
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitor has no signal chase907 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-12-2010 08:49 PM
monitor with no signal? mcarr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-14-2007 10:39 PM
No Signal to Monitor iamaslayerinsid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-01-2006 07:51 PM
Monitor gets no signal....?!!!???Help!!! NoSignal Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 01-28-2005 12:06 AM
need help no signal to monitor bomt697 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-11-2004 12:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.