Monitor making noise/not working: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2008, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Monitor making noise/not working:

hi all,
New here and looking for some help.
I have a 22inch Gateway monitor that simply stopped working. I've tried it on two different comps and nothing.

When i simply power on the monitor I hear a "static" noise and no image appears at all.

No storms or anything.

I contacted gateway and they could not have been less helpful. Its two years old and no longer under warranty.

Can this thing be repaired or do I drop the coin on a new one? Any thoughts?
I contacted two shops today who charge to even look at the thing...
__________________

the hnic is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 12:56 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Monitor making noise/not working:

Sounds like the power unit is gone. If it's no longer under warranty I'm not sure if I would go through the trouble of getting it repaired. Could cost quite a bit to solve the problem first.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Monitor making noise/not working:

The monitor's inverter is probably broken.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Monitor making noise/not working:

thanks for the replies. Guess I'll start to shop around. Really ****es me off to drop that much money on a well reviewed monitor and have it crash like this. Guess it can happen with anything tho. In fact, I noticed last night that it will eventually just shut off after about 45 seconds.

Any suggestions on a 22inch (or 24) monitor....would be used for soley for gaming. Under 400$ would be ideal.

thanks
the hnic is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Monitor making noise/not working:

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 226BW Black 22" 2 ms (GTG) Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 700:1(DC 3000:1) - Retail
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Monitor making noise/not working:

Awesome monitor!!!!!!! It is Alienware's top choice and VERY dependable! - and not half bad lookin'

If you are going to get a monitor I ALSO recommend this one! There is no sense in working with a cheap broken down monitor in a year! get the best!
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor making noise/not working:

yup, i have a 226bw and love it, i went from a 17" monitor which i though had half decent specs, now it hurts to look at it because the whites are beige lol.You will not be disappointed if you get a 226bw.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista, Keyboard And Mouse Stopped Working LOL_NESS Microsoft Windows and Software 10 03-05-2008 08:38 AM
x800gto no longer working. Erich K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-06-2007 01:19 PM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM
Cable connection not working. lalala123 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-10-2007 01:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.