Monitor keeps loosing signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2009, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Monitor keeps loosing signal

I just got back from Marine boot camp a couple days and when I went to hook up my computer it worked for a while, but then all of a sudden the monitor lost signal and the screen turns black. The monitor still has power though. Now when I turn it on, it will randomly loose signal, usually within a couple minutes. The computer however remains on. The same thing happens in safe mode.

I don't know if the vga chord got jacked or what, but its starting to get under my skin. Any ideas?
__________________

Doer. is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Monitor keeps loosing signal

Replace the video card. See if that fixes it. (try a friends first before purchasing one)
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Monitor keeps loosing signal

ok its working now. I just pushed everything down to make it was tight. Maybe the video card was loose or something.
Doer. is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 21
Default Re: Monitor keeps loosing signal

You would think it would learn something at boot camp...

Try the on board VGA port on the motherboard, also check the plug for damaged, loose, or missing pins. You could eliminate the monitor by trying it on another system. If it continues to do that on other systems, then I would suspect the lamp or power supply as well. The power supply could be dropping the power just enough the screen would go black like stand-by mode. That should cover the hardware aspects.

But I had an old Nvidia card go bad on me and it blinked on and off.
EDE Tech is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 06:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: Monitor keeps loosing signal

common problems of monitor loosing its signal its loose connection, but its a good thing that re-securing the cables did the trick.

if this problem persist and you have an onboard video, you could use that as well to eliminate the cause of the problem between the graphics card or the monitor (unless your monitor really has a problem) :-s
gunslinger01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Signal Processing OnlyCurious Programming 4 01-01-2009 09:30 PM
Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor Tinsil Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 09-27-2008 02:40 PM
How to Increase Wireless Signal Strength ??? Katmandu Laptops and Notebooks 5 05-29-2008 01:56 PM
Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on. canadian37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-20-2007 12:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.