Monitor HELP!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Monitor HELP!!

Hey, i don't know if i posted this in the correct section, if not please direct me to Monitor's R Us =). I know Tech-Forum-ites have a slight (as in slight i mean deep deep deep) hatred for all things Dell, and if you help me solve this problem you have my full permission to add this to your list of "Why I Hate Dell" items

Okay, here is my dilemma that's driving my insane. My monitor is currently a Dell SP2208WFP thats absolutely gorgeous. Its running at its optimal setting of 1680x1050 Reso with 60hz of refresh, on an nVidia GTX280, but something is wrong!!! I cant put my finger on it, but my letters aren't as crisp as they should be, and some even have a reddish slight tint/hue that drives me up the wall. I called Dell and they tried to help me but they basically said im an OCD psycho lol. I know what i am, but i ALSO know that this monitor has SOMETHING wrong. Any ideas what it could be? Maybe its the monitor malfunctioning on a hardware level, or maybe its some of the specs i have it on, but im about to shoot myself cuz i see it everywhere lol. HELP ME!! =)
__________________

JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

it probably came with a tool to fine tune the colours, my samsung did. Do that, if it has one. What colour bit do u have it on? it should be on 32bit.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

The Dell dude and me tried everything lol. It is set at 32 Bit, 96 Dpi, we toyed around with an insane amount of resolution/color/gamma combos, and nada. It was so frustrating. My brightness, gamma and contrast is at 50%, for some odd reason i cannot tweak sharpness (which im SO sure is the problem), and im using the Nvidia GPU for scaling.
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

why can you not tweak sharpness lol. Are u trying to do it threw a program or manuely on the monitor its self?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

Well, the monitor itself (you know, the little buttons on the screens edge) allows me to set the sharpness at a value between 0 and 100 in increments of 75, but the program i use through the computer itself (the nVidia Control Panel) doesn't let me tweak sharpness for some reason, the slider is grayed out.
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

use the buttons then
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

It doesn't fix the problem, im thinking it has to be something on a hardware level, because that dude and i literally tried EVERYTHING and tons of reso/refresh/color/gamma/brightness combo, and nothing.
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

Have you tried reseatting your GPU? If that does not work then perhaps it is your monitor
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

Have tried it on another computer? I wouldn't think a video card produce that kind of problem. A stupid question. Are you using a VGA or a DVI cable? Nobody would use a VGA cable on this nice monitor would they?
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor HELP!!

The video card could be seated badly, which could explain the bad display.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.