Monitor has no signal after ram install ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2008, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Default Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

I installed some ram from my old computer to my dads office computer and now his monitor wont display windows. I turned the power off and unplugged everything the installed the ram plugged everything back in now she no worky. Is it possible to install the wrong kind of ram and screw up your PC??
__________________

chr_mar is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

hmmm... i havent heard of a problem like this before... RAM affecting your monitor's display?
have you tried just putting the old RAM back in?
did you touch anything else in the case?
and are you SURE that the monitor and cables are all hooked up correctly?
will it display anything on the monitor? or just not windows?
im afraid well need more info to work with in order to really help you... : / - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

Checked all the connections three times at least everything is plugged in. I dont think I touched anything else I was really carefull of that. I have put the old ram back in and I still have the same problem.
chr_mar is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

hmmm... this is a very odd problem indeed...
so when you power up the computer, does the monitor display anything atall?
does it run bios, but just not windows, or...?
are you sure the monitor has power?
maybe try taking out the video card and running off of onboard graphics, see if its your card... - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

When I power on nothing happens, the monitor says NO SIGNAL. Ill try the video card idea.
chr_mar is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

mkay... let us know how it goes...
cuz i honestly dont see how your RAM could cause your monitor to lose picture... gotta be either your mobo, gpu, or monitor itself... or the cabling on one of those things... because the computer itself is still running fine, yes?
if all else fails, start trying to isolate the problem by eliminating piece of hardware as the issue one at a time... : / - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

No luck with the video card removal. I guess I must have fried something, I dont know how because the power was unpluged and I touched the metal before anything else. Would removing the ram reset the drivers for the monitor or someting like that. This is really ****ing me off I was trying to help my dad out here and now hes going to kill me, its his work PC
chr_mar is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

bust... hmmm... try unplugging the monitor and plugging it into another PC to test if thats the problem... heck, just switch monitors with another computer, that way you know if its the comp itself, or if its the work monitor...
and no, ram has nothing to do with drivers... and most monitors dont even really neeeeed drivers atall... so thats not it... try swapping monitors and lemme know how that turns out... - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

Never mind turns out im just a F**cking idiot. I pluged the monitor in the wrong port. Sorry for wasting your time man but thanks for the help.
chr_mar is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Monitor has no signal after ram install ???

WOWWW... *smacks you upside the head*
no problem tho, better than it actually being broken hahaha XD - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
RAM Install HELP NEEDED. Muzicvirus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-04-2008 11:23 PM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM
Can't install OS / bad ram? dawizhacker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-27-2007 04:21 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.