monitor and graphics card communication - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2008, 09:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default monitor and graphics card communication

Hi,

I am trying to replace my trusted CRT screen with a new PnP TFT LCD. The Windows XP splash screen shows very nicely, but when the login screen comes up the screen freezes, and shows weird dots on it.

I've guessed it's a resolution problem, and when I connected my CRT and changed resolution to lowest (640x480) I could reconnect my TFT and log into windows. however, all the screens' hardware buttons (brightness, auto-adjust, etc.) didn't function.

Thing is it wouldn't support any higher resolution, not even 800x600.

I've updated the video card driver, tried with windows' "PnP monitor" and "Default monitor" (don't have monitor's drivers on their site) but the screen freezes on higher resolutions.

Finally what I did was connect the screen's power supply when I was already logged in. Only then did the screen work, and now I am working with it in it's native resolution of 1280x1024/SXGA, 32-bit color.

Every time I power up my computer I have to do this thing - take out the power cord from the monitor and plug it back in. Also, when I shut down my system I have to physically remove the power cord again, since the auto-shutoff feature the monitor has doesn't work.

I know it's not the monitor since on my other computer it worked just fine - no resolution problems, no freezing, no PnP recognition problems, and all the hardware buttons fully functional and auto-shutoff working.

I'd appreciate any help since I'm completely lost here. Never seen anything like this before.

Thanks!


System:
----------
Windows XP Pro

P4 hyperthread CPU

Intel 82945G Express onboard video

Analog video connector to screen

Chimei CMV-945A Screen
http://www.chimei.com.tw/en/product_...mp;model_no=17
__________________

nir211 is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

That's strange... never heard of it before. I never turn my rig off, actually... I just turn off my monitor when I'm not using it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
That's strange... never heard of it before. I never turn my rig off, actually... I just turn off my monitor when I'm not using it.
save electricity, turn off your PC, save the planet

anyway, did your new monitor come with any software which can be installed?
Nick is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

Quote:
save electricity, turn off your PC, save the planet
Folding... burning electricity, running PC, curing cancer.

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Folding... burning electricity, running PC, curing cancer.

good point but errr your causing more damage to the world than good
Nick is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

lol my pc too is on constantly for folding
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication



look at USA tut tut
Nick is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

no, it didn't come with any drivers.

It says in the manual that the monitor is supposed to communicate with the card via the plug and pray enhanced monitor bla bla bla thingy.
nir211 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

are you using the onboard video.. or a video card
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 11:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: monitor and graphics card communication

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post


look at USA tut tut

rofl how are we beating china and india combined... aint that like well over 2 billion people?
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.