Monitor or GPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2016, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Monitor or GPU?

Just last night it started doing this.. my monitor would turn off and on for a split second and back on.. it already has pink lines in monitor and on games sometimes but nothing to bad.. Well i changed to a Vizio 32 inch TV just to see and everything seems to be working fine.. when a monitor turns off and on like that does that indicate its a bad monitor?
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

keep using the tv for a day or so and if the issue dont happen meant ur monitor is the culprit.
__________________

__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,478
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

Yep - if the same issues don't appear on the other display, the monitor is most likely the problem.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,292
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

I would hook the monitor back up and see if it happens again. It could have been a flaky cable connection.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

Thanks for the replys. I'm not seeing the pink lines in games I play or lines during videos like I was seeing but yeah I'll keep testing it. Hate to spend 300 on a new monitor and it wasn't the problem
SiZcO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,478
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

$300? What kind of monitor you planning on picking up?

Got my 25", 1080p Acer for $160 or so.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
$300? What kind of monitor you planning on picking up?

Got my 25", 1080p Acer for $160 or so.
My old monitor was 27 inch so i'm spoiled to get anything smaller.. but found this one for 235 so its not too bad.. what you think?

https://www.amazon.com/MX279H-MX279-...s=asus+monitor
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 05:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

I feel like an idiot. Well my DVI port points directly down on the back of the monitor i didn't think it was loose.. well i had the monitor on it and was messing with wire and it kept going out and blinking apparently that what the problem was.. i just don't how it even got loose. :/
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 10:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,292
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiZcO View Post
I feel like an idiot. Well my DVI port points directly down on the back of the monitor i didn't think it was loose.. well i had the monitor on it and was messing with wire and it kept going out and blinking apparently that what the problem was.. i just don't how it even got loose. :/
Check the screws that the DVI cable attach to. They may be loose or you may have one missing; been there, done that. As for how it could be loose it is way too easy to snag a cable with your foot or even for just the continuous tension/weight to slowly pull it loose.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 10:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Monitor or GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Check the screws that the DVI cable attach to. They may be loose or you may have one missing; been there, done that. As for how it could be loose it is way too easy to snag a cable with your foot or even for just the continuous tension/weight to slowly pull it loose.
Yeah, one side was totally unscrewed.. i was dusting the day before and i must of knocked completely loose then the following day is when it started to act up.. but i'm glad it was the cable then anything else.
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small GPU, single fan vs. Larger GPU, dual fan. Which will stay cooler in a Mini-ITX system? FairPlay New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-02-2014 04:25 PM
gpu overheating, upgrade gpu or new system? gskgsad New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-14-2009 01:54 PM
quad core vs duel core..single gpu vs x2 gpu soulafien New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-21-2008 04:41 PM
2GB of GPU Memory? Dual GPU's on one card wtf will they come up with next? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-03-2007 05:58 PM
Would it be better if...... GPU vs. GPU hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-08-2006 11:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.