Monitor goes black after starting ASUS Smart Doctor... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2011, 03:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default Monitor goes black after starting ASUS Smart Doctor...

This is a new issue that started a couple months ago.

I have an HD 5770 graphics card ASUS and when I start the Smart Doctor my monitor goes black, I cant do anything at all, the PC is still on but its just black.

Its not the monitor because it did it with the old one and I just got a brand new HD/LCD monitor.

Another glitch that seems to happen is when I opened Rome Total War, IDK if it was the way it opened but after I closed it, if I moved a screen like increased the size by going to the top and dragging it up and down, slice of the monitor would make this glitch thing.

I have tried to take a screen shot of it, it does not show up in the screen shot nor the video.

When I play games they seem to run ok, some games are laggy like Rome, Idk why it is, it shouldn't be.

All drivers/update is updated too.

So if you can help me with this annoying/frustrating problem, let me know!

(Getting new graphics card in June)
__________________

lentyski is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Monitor goes black after starting ASUS Smart Doctor...

Please list your system specifications.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Monitor goes black after starting ASUS Smart Doctor...

Windows 7 64 Bit
4 RAM
Phenom iix4 bb5
HD 5770
lentyski is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Monitor goes black after starting ASUS Smart Doctor...

4GB RAM of what? model, speed, type?
Power supply model and wattage?
I don't believe there is a iix4 bb5...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Monitor goes black after starting ASUS Smart Doctor...

Oh sorry I said it wrong, Phenom II X4 B55

The 4 GB of RAM is DDR3, I am not sure of the model/type...still learning of PCs.

I have a 500 WAT power supply.

Though Idk what that would have to do with my monitor going black after opening ASUS =/.
lentyski is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asus 4890 and smart doctor overclock v8killaz Overclocking and Modding 8 10-11-2009 11:49 AM
Monitor went black. Monitor itself isn't the problem. subway42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-16-2009 10:07 PM
Acer monitor not starting up. san21893 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-06-2007 12:14 AM
Active SMART Disk Monitor aye29 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-02-2006 12:48 AM
Computer starting but not visible on monitor Steve_uf Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 04-28-2004 10:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.