monitor flashes once and stays off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2009, 04:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default monitor flashes once and stays off

this happened about two hours ago. i went to open a new tab in google chrome then my monitor suddenly turns off while it's getting power. i've tried turning it on and off, restarting my computer and replugging/wiggling the cables but none of it worked. as soon as it turns on, the screen flashes and it turns off. i don't have any extra cables at the moment and i kinda doubt it's my vid card going bad because it was just fine while i played games earlier today.

the monitor was part of a graduation gift which came from cyberpower and i've tried searhing for the model but i couldn't find it. the brand is called Alaska and in the manual they didn't put a website.

does anyone have an idea of what could be wrong and how to fix this? or is it time for a new monitor? i got it around june last year.

as always, thanks for the help.

ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 04:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Almighty Forensica
Yami's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,436
Default Re: monitor flashes once and stays off

Have you tried it on a different computer? Do you have an old monitor you try to see if it is a problem with the GPU.

Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone HTC One M8 - Sense 7 - 6.0

Uni MSci Ethical Hacking, Coventry University
Work Trainee Cell Site Analyst
LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
Default Re: monitor flashes once and stays off

Well i have ran into a problem like this with a lot of Dell screens so this COULD be the problem if all else fails, but i would open up the monitor and look at all the capacitors again this is just a last resort if all else fails and you don't have a warranty on the monitor. But if a capacitor has a poped top on'll notice the difference if you see it, then that is your problem. If thats the case then just remove the old one with a soldering iron and add a new one. but i would do what yamikotai said first, and then to plug it into a different outlet and so on until you have tired everything before opening it up. if you need a place to buy a cap i go to its free shipping and most are only 60 cents. cant beat that by much.
Zindel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.