Monitor Down, I need a Medic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2006, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default Monitor Down, I need a Medic

okay boys... title says it all. I need my monitor to come back to life. Sadly, this monitor will be an upgrade my current monitor if it is fixed. If it helps, it is an Envision EN-775e 17" Color CRT monitor. My Dad's work bought these last summer, like 7 or 8 months ago. If I can save it, I'll be upgrading from my crappy little 15" beige Viewsonic Q51 CRT.

The monitor just 'quit' one day on a lady. She turned it on one morning and nothing happened. When I tried to plug it in and see what it does, it turns on. The little green light shows up to let me know that I am getting power AND signal. It turns yellow and goes into 'off mode' when I unplug the cord from the back of the computer. So what I KNOW is that it is getting/recognizing a signal from the computer. The problem is that the screen is dead as a doornail. It doesn't even humor me and flicker on and off.

I don't know much about how the monitor works. I can only guess about these sort of things. Anyone know what part may have just 'gone out' one day?

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

Check the monitor controls...... maybe someone fooled with the settings!
Check the connector for bent/broken pins where it mates with the computer . Maybe someone moved the monitor and stretched the monitor cord!
Check the easy stuff first...... monitors usually show failing symptoms before they die!
John....
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

So let's pretend that I am certain that things like that are completely healthy. (I am.) Does anyone know about the intracacies of the internal monitor? It looks to me like the shrink-ray used in "Honey, I Shrunk the Kids." I'm not quite sure what all the pieces do.

Ryan

on edit: The settings panel does not come up. As I meant to say before, the screen is showing absolutely no life at all, period.
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Is it possible that the backlight gave out? Take a look at this: http://www.inventgeek.com/Projects/shorts/lcdfix.aspx
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 204
Default

Sounds to me the lighting tube in the CRT is out. These tubes are the main part of CRT monitors, and most basic TVs. This part is where the phrase "watchin' the tube" comes from.
3xistenc3 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
Is it possible that the backlight gave out? Take a look at this: http://www.inventgeek.com/Projects/shorts/lcdfix.aspx
It's a CRT dude...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Ah, hehe, sorry about that. Not sure how i missed that
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

thanks anyway for trying...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

are you sure your pc isnt in "standby" mode?

it happens all the time to me and it will freeze

i had to reboot to see the green light again and the monitor will start tto show stuff again
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

No, see, I'm looking for suggestions about internal components. I'm really positive that I know the basic, basic things to look for for trouble shooting. If anyone knows about the components inside that make the thing work, please make a post. I have a suspision that the problem lies between the place that recieves and acknoledges the signal and the place that it notifies the monitor to turn on when this signal is recieved.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.