Monitor distortion problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2005, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Monitor distortion problem

Hi Everybody,
I just got a Compaq TFT 8020 Flatpannel monitor that is working great exept that about one cm at the top of the monitor it is a little squigly (like one row of pixles is off or somthing) is this a graphics card problem or is this from actual damage to the monitor?
Thanks
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

do you have another monitor, or access to one that you can try...

if it does it on another then it is your video card...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

No, It only does it on this monitor. Hmmmm That sucks cuz i just got this one. O well its only in a very small portion of the top of the screen so it probably won't affact anything
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

Sounds like either dead pixels or some sort of corrupt plasma. I don't know much about monitors.
uber is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 06:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I heard about some japanese guy makeing a program that fixes dead pixels, something about flashing red green and blue in rappid sucsession

on a side note, if you got that monitor recently... if you bought it, try to use the warrenty...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

probably a dead pixel, looks like the graphics card was working before you got the flat panel monitor
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Well im a little confused at the moment because as i said before, this didn't happen on the other flatscreen (same make and model too) so that leads me to think its the monitor but when i move the picture down it is still squigly at the top of the picture. Could the cable be getting interference from the rats nest of wires its on?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I doubt it, I have no experience with flat screen monitors though, do they take interferance from magnets, or static?

if you have a warrenty, then return it, thats what I would do...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

If its a pixel issue you can try rubbing it with your finger gently....
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.