monitor destorts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default monitor destorts

My monitor destorts from side to side every once in a while. Usually on start up. I was wondering if this could be the vidio card or the monitor. I am running a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200. The computer is a Pentium 4 2.66 ghz with 512 of ram and windows xp. The monitor is a standard plug and play 17 inch AOC spectrum 9Glrs. All of this has been working for about 2 years with no problems.
If it is the card what do you recommend to replace it with. Also if i have to replace it what are the steps to do so. Have done some computer repair in the past but it has been a while. If i remember, you remove the old card from the hardware device manager then remove and replace the card's and load the software for the new card?
Thanks for the help
Dave
__________________

dcamarra is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Sounds like your monitor is having problems. Do you have any large magnetic devices right next to your monitor, like huge speakers?

(Sounds silly but has happened before)
__________________

__________________
My system: (updated)
AMD 64 X2 4400+ (Fast!)
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gigs OCZ DDR400/PC 3200 (Fast!)
WD Raptor 150gb SATA 10,000rpm
WD 250gig X 2 RAID 0
Thermaltake Tai-Chi case with W/C
BFG Tech Nvidia 7800GTX X 2 SLI\'d
<b>\"If everyone is thinking alike, then someone isn\'t thinking.\"</b> --General George S. Patton
<i>MSN=adydaoc@msn.com Yahoo=ady_1201@yahoo.com</i>
Techguru75 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

no nothing new on the magnets. I have noticed that it clicks after startup. It starts fine then quickly goes to the distortion. Also does this while using it during the day.
Sometimes takes a couple of reboots to fix it.
dcamarra is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 10:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Do you have another monitor to try? Also, do you have a friend's computer to plug your monitor in to see if it does the same thing?

I'm thinking your monitor is about to go out, but that is a guess with limited amount of information.
__________________
My system: (updated)
AMD 64 X2 4400+ (Fast!)
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gigs OCZ DDR400/PC 3200 (Fast!)
WD Raptor 150gb SATA 10,000rpm
WD 250gig X 2 RAID 0
Thermaltake Tai-Chi case with W/C
BFG Tech Nvidia 7800GTX X 2 SLI\'d
<b>\"If everyone is thinking alike, then someone isn\'t thinking.\"</b> --General George S. Patton
<i>MSN=adydaoc@msn.com Yahoo=ady_1201@yahoo.com</i>
Techguru75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.