Monitor Configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2016, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Monitor Configuration

I have two video cards (gtx 970, 570) which I have two monitors each. Two dvi on the 570 and one display port and one dvi on the 970. About 90% of the time when I start windows, the configuration I have set is messed up.

For example, if I have all monitors except my main (display port) disabled, upon starting, it is reversed - main display disabled, other three enabled.

I have searched and tried a hotfix I found to no avail. Any suggestions? Thanks.

OS: Windows 7
__________________

insane84722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 07:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,775
Default Re: Monitor Configuration

Can you list all of the outputs on both cards, and all of the inputs on all four monitors? I know it's a hassle but I'd be surprised if there isn't a more efficient configuration of connection that might make the problem moot. At worst you might just need an HDMI to DVI and/or DP to DVI adaptors. That's on the assumption that connecting all monitors to one card would improve the situation (doing so generally simplifies things significantly).

There's also a possibility that Windows is initialising one GPU before the other, and loading the display configuration based on that. Physically switching the GPUs around might alleviate this, but I'm not entirely sure.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Monitor Configuration

agree with Yami about trying to switch them, My MB has a LED that lights up as there booting up and the top slot turns on first then the other so It may be turning the wrong one on first.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung 205bw Monitor Configuration help AntonOle Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 09-07-2008 06:52 AM
MONITOR MONITOR MONITOR (gaming) eatbutt Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 06-04-2005 04:01 AM
product configurator software, configuration system configurator Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-22-2003 01:01 PM
registry/configuration error offthesauce Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-28-2003 08:47 PM
Win XP losing network configuration Grill Microsoft Windows and Software 3 11-11-2002 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.