Monitor and computer no signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2018, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: No
Posts: 2
Default Monitor and computer no signal

I'll try to make this as detailed and informational as possible.

I was on my conputer when I decided to restart it. When it did, the starting screen was completely green and it was frozen like that. Right away i knew it was an HDMI problem because this has happend before. I was moving my cable around like an antenna to see if I can get it to stop showing colors, but instead it went black. I decided to unplug my HDMI port And plug it back in. When I took it out it was missing that outer casing and looks like a ton of metal strings sticking out. I assumed the cable was bad so I removed it and put another one in to both my monitor and computer. When I turned on my computer it said no signal. I tried removing it and replugging it, turning off the power, googling solutions And nothing worked. How can I get my monitor to recognize my pc?
__________________

__________________
TechAttack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,310
Default Re: Monitor and computer no signal

If you pulled it out the remains might be stuck in the port. Depending on what your GPU/monitor solution is try a different port on the card.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: No
Posts: 2
Default Re: Monitor and computer no signal

I only have one port. I looked into my port and it looks clean and nothing seems to be in it.
__________________
TechAttack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weak Wifi signal, how can I boost signal? nunchucklee Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 03-13-2014 11:52 AM
Just built a new computer and monitor won't find a signal. qeadwsx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-16-2010 09:57 PM
How much can a wireless DSL signal go through and still have a good signal? Org Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 08-20-2009 08:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.