moniter trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2006, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default moniter trouble

Yeah so anyways I got home from work, was about to play some games when I noticed I had no sound and I recalled I had just end tasked some things and figured I'd closed something to do with it. So my solution was restart my computer. I did (windows made the shutdown sound, go figure), and then my moniter said no input and would flicker once and turn off. I'd turn it back on and the same thing happened. Then I recalled that the socket its plugged into is loose and maybe thats the problem, so I played with it and I got it to seem like it was staying on. Then I turned it off (so I could organize wires I'd switched and stuff) and when I tried going back it wouldn't work again.

Anyways I played with it for quite awhile now and my gut feeling says its the power supply to the moniter. Which sucks cuz its new and shouldn't have happened. All I want to know is is there something else I should try or should I just RMA it like I think (if its still covered, be PIST if it isn't).

And if anyone needs to know its this:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824021025
__________________

__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 11:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Have you tried the monitor on another machine just to see if it's not your system. Have you tried anothe monitor on your system?
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

No and yes. I thought it might have been my video card too so I tried unplugging the moniter from everything except power. Same thing happened. I was about to move my computer down here and try it on here just to make sure, but I just got some bad news about a friend of mine so it'll have to wait.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

looked it up. it has a "3 year limited warranty (3 years on parts and labor, 1 year LCD panel)". Its been about 2 months(kinda questioning rosewills quality).

Newegg won't touch it but the manufacturer better or I'll hunt them down and burn it to the ground. Anyways I'm just gonna RMA it. I don't know how to fix it myself and neither does anyone else.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.