Moniter not working! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default Moniter not working!

So I was playing a game on my computer last night, and the moniter starts to flicker, then turns off. I then exit out of the game and everythings fine, so I leave the computer to brush my teeth come back, and the moniter's blank again. I turned it off, then replugged the moniters power plug and video wire back, turned the computer on, got picture for 5 minutes before it blinked, then went blank. I know its not my monitor because I tried 2 other monitors and I got the same problem. My video card is a Nvidia GeForce 5700LE. I took it out, and plugged the cord from the monitor to use the integrated video card on my motherboard, and now I have picture. Does anybody know what the problem is? Thanks.
__________________

silent is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

im about 99.9% sure its your psu , but if you wanna be 100% then measure its voltages in real time using a digital multimeter while the 5700le is connected and report back the voltages or if youll see something on screen while the 5700le is connected of course. then get into the bios and get into pc health/hardware monitoring and write the voltages on paper and then power off and disconnect the 5700le and power up and report back , see these guides on how to use a digital multimeter to measure psu voltages
http://www.ochardware.com/articles/psuvolt/psuvolt.html
http://www.driverheaven.net/guides/testingPSU/ , and if youll provide full system specs ill recommend a high quality psu (and believe me when it comes to psu you better not get a cheap one read at this thread why http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=96974 )
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Unhappy

I tried both of my friends PSU, and no luck. I dont really understand how it can be my PSU because the monitor has the green on light, just nothing comes up If it helps, I have an Intel Celeron D 2.4GHZ, 512mb x2 dual channel, and a Nvidia GeForce FX 5700LE.
silent is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

guess i was wrong on that its just that in alot of similar cases the psu is usally at fault , the remaining reasons are the card itself or the motherboard , to figure it out i suggest youll try the card on a friend pc , also check the mobo for bad capacitors see these examples
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
but even if it doesnt have bad capacitors it doesnt mean its not at fault , and if you will find bad capacitors then rma the mobo or have the capacitors replaced at an electronic repair shop capacitors are cheap so it shouldnt cost much and it will work 100% fine after replacing em
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Alright, I was saving this for a last resort: I helped my dad build a computer last year, but he got a labtop instead but we still have some parts, and he has the same exact same motherboard as I do, so I guess I'll have to just connect the parts all over again. And theres 1 capacitator (thought they were called resistors ) on my video card that is sort of loose, dunno if I can fix that, and theres one on the motherboard that is really bent back because of a new heatsink I had to put in. Those sound like the problems? If so, they've been like that for awhile, so I'm not sure.
silent is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

nope , these are resistors http://www.action-electronics.com/resist50.htm , the question is how loose is it exactly look under the capacitor and on the cards other side aswell does it looks like its soldered well? and when you move it a bit does it sticks out from the cards other side? , as for the mobo one if it aint loose it shouldnt be a problem
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Crap man, I found out its my video card. I moved all my internals to a new motherboard (same as the current one I have), and I got the same problem! Why would my video card just suddenly stop working?
silent is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Alright, looks like I'm going to have to buy a new video card, is this card better then the one I currently have?

XFX PV-T44A-RA GeForce 6200 Video Card
silent is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by silent
Why would my video card just suddenly stop working?
hard to say for sure probably due to one of these reasons

1) its fan stopped spinning you havnt noticed and cuz it wasnt spinning for a long time the card overheated and died

2) on one clear day your psu (if you got a cheap one that is) decided to fireup (overvoltage) the card

3) some electronic part in your motherboard went bad and as a result the card got too much voltage

4) the agp voltage settings in your bios was set too high and as a result after a while well..

5) maybe it just the way its suppost to be, how many years do have it?

Quote:
Originally posted by silent
is this card better then the one I currently have?
yeah but barely , if you want a real noticble performance increase then invest some more on a 6600 just make sure its 128bit as some are 64bit
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default

alright man, thanks for all the help, you've been really helpful. I've only had it for about a year!
__________________

silent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.