Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2007, 09:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

I dont know much about this kindof stuff, but to me its logical that I should be able to get a USB 2.0 where a 1.1 was. Whether I just need to add power, or buy new heads, its the same size, so someone tell me what I would have to do to get the old G15 to have USB2.0?
__________________

__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 09:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

Newegg.com - SYBA PCI USB 2.0 4+1 shared port controller card Model SD-VIA-5U - Retail
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

i have 6 usb 2.0 ports built into my motherboard- I dont need a pci card.

but I have the logitech G15, which has two usb 1.1 ports on it - almost completely useless. Look it up. (http://www.gadgetreview.com/uploaded...g15-700665.jpg)
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

you can't make 1.1 into 2.0. Its like agp won't work w/ pcie. or ddr2 and ddr. you'll just have to live with the lackluster performance of usb 1.1 on your keyboard.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

but if I were to completely replace the heads? Wont the usb that plugs into the computer draw power accordingly?
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

USB 1.1 cannot be modded to USB 2.0 for the following reason: the controller doesn't support USB 2.0. The heads are all the same for both USB 1.1 and USB 2.0. Its the controller that determines the speed.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midn1gh7 View Post
you can't make 1.1 into 2.0. Its like agp won't work w/ pcie. or ddr2 and ddr. you'll just have to live with the lackluster performance of usb 1.1 on your keyboard.
lol @ "lackluster" lmao.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 10:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

its like cutting a notch on a stick off DDR2 so itll work in a DDR mobo
Nick is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

Ok, I do understand what you are saying, the heads are the same, the controller wont support it, etc.

To make this perfectly clear, the keyboard itself is plugged into USB2.0. Someone confirm that it is not possible to replace the cord to make the keyboard draw more power, or something, and I'll shut up...

What doesn't make sense to me, is that if the heads are the same, and there are such things as multiple usb 2.0s coming out of one usb2.0...and a new revision of the logitech G15 will have powered usb in the keyboard...why cant one simply draw more power?
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 01:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Mod USB 1.1 to 2.0?

why would you want the keybaord to draw more power?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.