Mobo Troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 12:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Mobo Troubles

I've been having mobo troubles lately (the one posted below). It's not posting at all anymore so I think it's dead. Just to make sure, I tried it without any RAM sticks in and didnt get a beep error. So does this mean it's dead or damaged or w/e and I should RMA it?
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 02:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Is your power supply big enough to handle your devices? If you're sure that it is, then I would definitely RMA. If you have a system speaker and are powering up with no RAM, that board should be screaming at you.
__________________

sweetleaf is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sweetleaf
Is your power supply big enough to handle your devices? If you're sure that it is, then I would definitely RMA. If you have a system speaker and are powering up with no RAM, that board should be screaming at you.
420 watts, so yes, it has enough power.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 02:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

No posting? What else? What about mobo light? Are other devices functioning?
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by shenlingstyle
No posting? What else? What about mobo light? Are other devices functioning?
All fans turn on and LED's light up.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KingAustin
All fans turn on and LED's light up.
I am having the exact same problem....computer won't boot, but all the lights, LEDs, fans, etc. come on and run like normal. No video to the monitor at all. Computer worked fine for almost a year and now it seems to be dead. I have cleared the CMOS several times to no avail, and I know the monitor is working. It's been suggested my PSU is bad, but I don't know. Haven't tried taking the RAM out, though. What is that supposed to tell you?
__________________

Bearcat14 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.