Mobo screws.... @$#^%!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2006, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default Mobo screws.... @$#^%!!!

This might suck, I don't know, which is why I'm askin you all. The XION II case, beautiful as it is, comes with 2 risers for the motherboard, and it needs three. 8 out of 9 screws CERTAINLY holds it in, so I'm not really worried. Is there any problems with not having all the screws? If I'm missing 1, will the mobo be damaged?
__________________

saxofoner is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Its good to put a plastic riser that clips into the motherboard screw hole in. (check the bag of screws that came with the case for any white plasticy type things and cut the bottom off it).
__________________

imation is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 05:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Try to even them out so you get the best support you can. But no, you won't hurt anything unless you happen to be installing/removing hardware and happen to crack it from lack of support.

Technically, you could ziptie the mobo to the top of the case and it would run fine.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 07:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default

Alrighty thanks. Last night I got the mobo, ram, and cpu in. Today is the rest, hopefully. But I feel REALLY stupid for this one: I couldn't figure out how to slide the tray out, so I was reaching into the case the whole time.
saxofoner is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I always build it inside the case... lol.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default

Well, the reviews say this case has a "removable tray" for the motherboard. But I couldn't find the screws... so screw it.
saxofoner is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 05:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

lol, i've always built inside also
__________________

__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.