Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2008, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

Went over to my friends place to get the new mobo installed. Just to update you I have 3 HDD, one for Vista, one for XP and then the Slave. Well it's been a headache so far.

mobo: Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TPower I45 LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Once we got everything together we tried to fire it up and nothing! So we went over everything make sure it was pugged in correctly. Some how and we both still do not understand why but it just started working????

So now this is where I am stuck. I installed Xp first on the same drive it was on before. Well the ide was not showing up in the bios. Finally we got it to show up then however the disc drive would not read/boot the disc for XP. Well I noticed the ide cable was pretty tight between the HDD and the mobo. We moved it and it finally worked. Well it was very late so I installed XP and just went to bed. I get up today and tried to install Vista. Same ISSUE!

I select to boot from disc, it lets me select the disc drive to boot from disc, I press "ANY KEY TO CONTINUE" and instead of it booting the disc it booted up the old Vista from the previous install. This is exactly what was happening with XP. Instead of it booting the disc it would just boot the old OS installed on the HDD already. Obviously this OS doesn't work for either OSes since it's a new mobo.

I'm lost! Does any one have any idea what is going wrong? Things seem so inconsistent here. One second it works next it doesn't.

The guy that helped me install this (because I have never done this myself) is coming over tonight to look into it further but he is as confused as I am right now.

Edit: sorry if this is confusing at all. I didnt get much sleep and my brain is mush today!
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

Could it be a faulty cable, or maybe not plugged in firmly? What drives are using what interface IDE/SATA?
Is the problem that it will not boot to the optical drive or did I get the wrong end of the stick?
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

Are you wanting to dual boot? If so you need to install both OS's on the same hard drive. That would be your first issue. While you can have two OS's on two separate hard drives to dual boot you will have to use a 3rd party tool to boot the drives. See the boot files found on the MASTER drive dictate what will load. If you only have Vista installed on that MASTER drive it will only boot from that drive.

What you need to do is install XP first on one drive, then Vista second on that same drive. If you wnat each OS to have its own drive you need to google to find boot programs.

Are these IDE or SATA?
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

We got everything working fine.

Not sure why you said I need to install vista and xp on same HDD? I can change the boot order priority in the bios.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

Haha, well ya, but if you wanted a boot screen to come up giving you the option (instead of going into the BIOS every time) you would need to install on the same hard drive or use a 3rd party tool.

Glad you got it working. Find out why it was so difficult?
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

You dont need them on the same hard drive to use a boot loader. I have configured EasyBCD to boot Vista/XP/Linux all on seperate hard drives. It can be done easily.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
You dont need them on the same hard drive to use a boot loader. I have configured EasyBCD to boot Vista/XP/Linux all on seperate hard drives. It can be done easily.
Using EasyBCD, so you had to use a 3rd party tool. I didn't say it was difficult, just said you'd need a 3rd party tool if you didn't install them on the same drive.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 11:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

It can be done manually with BCDedit as well. But that is much more difficult to work with that the simplicity of EasyBCD.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
Haha, well ya, but if you wanted a boot screen to come up giving you the option (instead of going into the BIOS every time) you would need to install on the same hard drive or use a 3rd party tool.

Glad you got it working. Find out why it was so difficult?
You had to ask didn't you!

usb keyboard, need I say more.

K u can laugh now

LOL

Man with this new mobo I am going to be starting so many new topics. I got audio, OCing and all kinds of questions. I'd like to group them together so I am not spamming up the place but I guess it's best to separate them.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
Haha, well ya, but if you wanted a boot screen to come up giving you the option (instead of going into the BIOS every time) you would need to install on the same hard drive or use a 3rd party tool.

Glad you got it working. Find out why it was so difficult?
Don't have to change the boot order everytime though either...can just select the drive from the Boot Device menu too . That's what I've done with XP on its own drive, and Vista/Ubuntu on a separate drive.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM
*PLEASE HELP* xp froze during install. Got new disc and its trying to continue instal clueworm82 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 02-06-2008 12:23 PM
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM
URGENT HELP! Post Windows Install Keeps Deleting My Partitions datahead Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-12-2007 09:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.