Mobo Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2008, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: US
Posts: 51
Default Mobo Help

Hi, recently got my cousins old AMD dual core machine, but he wiped everything before i received it, he gave me a driver disk and a floppy. the cd has the motherboard drivers, and the floppy has the sata drivers. At first the computer wouldn't read the hard drive so it wouldn't install windows, but now once windows finished installing, it wont boot into windows i just get the blue screen of death with error messages. If anyone can tell me the steps to install the drivers and windows it would be really helpful.

__________________

Pirate_bob7 is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: Mobo Help

when you say wipe do you mean a complete format or just delete? theres serveral problems why you get that error. bootsector virus, device driver problems or hardware issues.
__________________

kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: US
Posts: 51
Default Re: Mobo Help

my guess would be that he reformatted it, but not exactly sure. I'm guessing it has to do w/ me doing the drivers since I've never done it before.
Pirate_bob7 is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: Mobo Help

well then, if you have his reinstall CD then go ahead and repartition the hard drive and format it to the NTFS system just in case. reinstall and see if u get that same error again you really shouldnt have to use any drivers till you get to windows starting up.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 04:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: US
Posts: 51
Default Re: Mobo Help

it can't find the hard drive when i fresh install.
Pirate_bob7 is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 04:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: Mobo Help

have you checked your jumper settings on the HDD? make sure its set to master.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 04:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: US
Posts: 51
Default Re: Mobo Help

I'll pop it open and check the jumper settings, but i took a pic of the first start up part. "-Detecting Pri Master..ATAPI CDROM" but then "-Detecting Pri Slave..Not Detected" does the second part mean anything?
Pirate_bob7 is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 05:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Mobo Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate_bob7 View Post
I'll pop it open and check the jumper settings, but i took a pic of the first start up part. "-Detecting Pri Master..ATAPI CDROM" but then "-Detecting Pri Slave..Not Detected" does the second part mean anything?
No. It just means you have room for another burner or hard drive.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 06:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: Mobo Help

that screen shows me that your hard drive is not being detected. if your using an IDE and cdrom and have 2 IDE channels, look at the hard drive and make sure its on master and your using the top end of the ribbon cable and your cd rom drive is not on the same ribbon, you cant have 2 masters on the same IDE (ribbon) channel.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 07:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: US
Posts: 51
Default Re: Mobo Help

Thanks for all the help, i got it running, turns out i was selecting the wrong choice for non-logo drivers while installing xp. and power cable for the Hd was slightly loose.
__________________

Pirate_bob7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.