Mobo fried. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2007, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Mobo fried.

After assembling my new system last night, I go to plug in the power supply to the wall and soon after doing so I notice smoke coming from the bottom of the motherboard (this is before booting only simply connecting the power cord to an outlet).

The component that burned was a small area between two capacitors on the bottom, right under the last PCI slot.

The capacitor was not bent, smashed, or disturbed in anyway during the install. So my question is, was this a board defect that could've happened to anyone during install or was this something that I possibly did to cause it?
__________________

JohnnyR~ is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Mobo fried.

Im thinking mobo defects, id return it A.S.A.P
unless you connected something wrong , i doubt it
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Mobo fried.

If you mounted the board wrong where something live was touching ground you could expect some smoke then. Otherwise you may have a bad cap to blame. The other thing to consider is a bad supply with short sending a surge through to the board. The power connections are all one way plugin types to avoid mishaps.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Re: Mobo fried.

I'm glad the general consensus is a bad mobo. I've been building PC's for the last 7 years and I have had problems before but the recent 4 PC's have been assembled flawlessly.

Here is a pic of the failed capacitor.


My motherboard is a ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2
JohnnyR~ is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Mobo fried.

It could just be the wall outlet's fault or PSU (sending a surge) or the board could have shorted out due to a defect or an object in the area.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Re: Mobo fried.

I have a Thermaltake W0106RU 700w PSU.
JohnnyR~ is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Mobo fried.

If the supply has a shorted cap it won't matter what make and model. Something happened there to see smoke come up from the board. You will want to have the supply checked out before using it again even as a precaution to prevent damage to any other board.

Without even turning on the power to boot the system the board itself doesn't frie on it's own. When plugging in the ac cord with the power off but breaker on? A bad cap in the supply shorting to ground or simply pushing a surge into the board is far more likely. Have the supply tested and find out.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 03:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Re: Mobo fried.

I was leaning towards a bad PSU myself, but I didn't want to have to consider dealing with a dead mobo and a bad PSU.

How would I go about testing this PSU out before the new RMA'd board arrives?
JohnnyR~ is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 12:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Mobo fried.

For the supply the best way is to bring it in to a repair since someone with the necessary experience will know how to place a load on it while testing to see it that's your problem. The board itself would only have a very small draw on the supply with the green led that shows if power is available. That's in miliamps only. A place like Compusa or even Circuit City or a pc repair shop would be the place equipped for testing.

You had the breaker switch turned on when plugging the ac cord in strongly pointing at the supply itself sending a surge most likely due to a shorted cap. Even if something on the board was touching ground you still hadn't pressed the power switch to then see a power demand by the board since starting up a system sees the heaviest demand at that time. If you simply reversed the wires from the front panel for power and reset buttons you wouldn't see smoke come up like that. Something saw some heavy current.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
choosing my new mobo raza New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-31-2007 04:24 AM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
What Power and Mobo? weee107 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-21-2007 11:22 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.