Mid build HUGE problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2010, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Mid build HUGE problem.

Ok,

I just spent all last night building mine and my brother's machines. His worked perfectly so my luck ran out. I got mine up and running it posts and everything but I can not load an OS

BSOD

0x000000a5 - Bios is not fully ACPI compliant.

I do have the latest bios but is it possible there was an error so now this is happening? I'm going to try to flash it again but is there anything else I could do?

the board is a Foxconn A78AX-S and the CPU is a Phenom 955 BE.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

Did you reset the bios after flashing? Have you made sure the ACPI option is enabled in the Bios.

I found this for Vista - VISTA installing crash--BIOS not fully ACPI compliant

and this looks like another possible
The ACPI BIOS in this system is not fully compliant From "Richard Tubb: ChannelPro-SMB
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 02:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

Yes I've reset the BIOS and checked all ACPI related settings and fiddled with a few more.

Well, taking one stick of ram out like the second link lead me to believe has worked and got me further down the rabbit hole. I've gotten the boot disk to load so far but clearly this is an unacceptable way to run with only 2gb so I also need a workaround to this issue in the OS which I think is possible?


EDIT: FROM MICROSOFT: What does this mean?

Quote:
RESOLUTION

To resolve this behavior, contact the manufacturer of your computer to obtain a BIOS that is fully ACPI compliant.

To work around this behavior, manually install the Standard PC hardware abstraction layer (HAL): 1. Restart the computer to restart Setup. 2. When Setup starts again, press F7 (not F6) when you see the "Press F6 if you need to install a third-party SCSI or RAID driver" screen. Windows automatically disables the installation of the ACPI HAL and installs the Standard PC HAL.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

I'm not really that knowledgeable in that area.

I've never seen a "bad" flash in which the system would still post. But I have seen bios updates that fixed one issue and in turn caused a different issue.

I would try a slightly older bios that still has support for your cpu.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

Ok I think that's what I'll do.

The fix I found would cripple me to a single core an we don't want that now do we.....

This really sucks because I can now boot fine but 2gb ain't gonna cut it.


EDIT:
No go. I went back an update and I have the same problem.

I'm wondering if an RMA is in order.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

Update: 2 sticks = 3gb works but 2 sets of 2x4gb did not work under any circumstance. I emailed Foxconn to see if there was an exact BIOS update that could solve this while keeping compatibility, so I shall see.

Any other ideas?

Double post, sorry. I'm running on 2 hours of sleep.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

Can you check your CPU in your brother's build (swap it out)? My original 965 had a bad memory controller and had to be RMA'd.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 12-25-2010, 09:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

His is a 775. We got a E2160 handed to us so he wanted to build from it and it was cheap.

I have no AM3 board at my disposal. Any other way I can test this?

EDIT: Could I stick one of my Athlons in and if they work fine would it be a safe assumption it's the CPU?

Same code. No go.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 01:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Mid build HUGE problem.

SOLVED:

So I got really tired of attempting to contact Foxconn's so called "tech support" so, I decided I will fix this or mail them there motherboard sawed in half.

Well I tried 2 things.
1. The memory ganged.
2. RAID and AHCI configurations.

It was the latter. In the standard native IDE configuration the bios was having trouble running a 64bit windows in all its more than 4gb glory. I first set it in AHCI and than I heard the recommended is RAID. It runs perfectly in both.

I really hope that this helps someone down the road because this was a month long headache that really kicked me while I was down.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HUGE problem with HL2 juno_reactor PC Gaming 8 05-24-2007 09:24 AM
HUGE problem. Lord AnthraX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 10-23-2006 01:47 PM
HUGE problem!! DefragMyHead Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-24-2005 11:07 PM
huge problem heaiser Microsoft Windows and Software 4 12-09-2004 10:44 PM
Huge problem with FF8!! XanaduXL PC Gaming 4 03-12-2004 05:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.