microphone problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default microphone problem

I'm having problem getting my microphone to work correctly. This could be a driver or a hardware issue, but I'm not sure which. First of all, I tested that my mic work with sound recorder, so no problem there. The thing is I don't want to record it, and then play it. Pretty much, I just watn to be able to hear my voice when I say something to my microphone whenever I use windows media player. I have a sony laptop that play back what I just said to my speaker using my microphone regardless of any program. The purpose here is for me to be able to sing. What've found out is that there's no Microphne section in the Volume Control. My sony laptop has the Microphone section in the Volume Control and I can hear voice as I say things. Currently, my laptop is a dell d620 with Sigmatel STAC92XX C-Major HD Audio driver. I already contacted dell and they say that this issue is out of the warranty. Does anyone know how, if possible, fix this problem? any help would be much appreciated.
__________________

techinsta is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

I'd go with a free third-party program. It would save a lot of time.

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

start -> run
type and run "sndvol32" (without the quotes)
go to options -> properties
check "microphone"
unmute the microphone from there
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 07:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
start -> run
type and run "sndvol32" (without the quotes)
go to options -> properties
check "microphone"
unmute the microphone from there
The thing is there's a microphone option where I can just check. I only have Line In, External Mic, and Internal Mic for voice device and they don't work.
techinsta is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dipique
I'd go with a free third-party program. It would save a lot of time.

Dan
What 3rd party program would you recommend?
techinsta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.