Mic problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2008, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Mic problems

I have a match in cal for cs:s coming up monday and i need my mic to work... I just got my new build up and i cant figure out why my mic isnt working...

Anything i should try? It was working when plugged into the back untill i changed some volume settings... i just turned everything up....


now its not..
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Mic problems

Unplug it and plug it in again. The software with the 680i will auto detect it.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: Mic problems

When you say it isn't working, do you mean you can't talk out of it or hear?

In any case, go to your Sounds and Audio Device Properties and go to the audio tab. Make sure your default device for your playback and sound recording are set to the mic or whichever you want.
Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Mic problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Unplug it and plug it in again. The software with the 680i will auto detect it.

apparently not in the front of my comp... and they do detect it when i plug it in the back but its not working....
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Mic problems

I tried in front AND back and i can just not get any sound to come out of this thing in vent... It was working on my other comp last time i used it..


The sound test hardware detects the mic and i can hear my voice... it just doesnt work in vent i guess... hmmm
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Typhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 74
Send a message via MSN to Typhoon
Default Re: Mic problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
I tried in front AND back and i can just not get any sound to come out of this thing in vent... It was working on my other comp last time i used it..
Perhaps it could be your settings in ventrillo.
Go to start > accessories > sound recorder.
Record a clip, and see if you can hear a playback!
Maybe the mic is broken, if it's made by logitech, it wouldn't suprise me.
__________________
Www.iTyphoon.org
Typhoon is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Mic problems

I had this happen to me where ventrillo settings got broken somehow. I had to completely delete it and reinstall. The mic was working, but it was somehow muted in vent.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mic wont work WDD11791 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-25-2007 07:04 PM
Mic not working WDD11791 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 11-25-2007 02:58 PM
problems viewing some webpages sehana Internet Software and Browsers 4 07-30-2007 03:41 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.