Memtest showed bad results - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2012, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
Spit-wad's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Memtest showed bad results

I've been having problems with my home theater pc for quite a while now. I could never get Memtest to do a full run previously.

I randomly decided to run Memtest86 v4.20 today and it showed a ton of red. I'm not sure how to interpret that other than "you need new memory".

Do I simply need to replace my ram? I have 2 sticks of 2GB right now... do I need to replace both or can I tell which one is bad?

Spit-wad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 07:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Memtest showed bad results

Do a separate test with each stick to find out the bad one.

__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Memtest showed bad results

Also, try to borrow a known good stick to test on your board to rule out the slots going bad.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
Spit-wad's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Memtest showed bad results

Oh you guys fancy. I don't think it's an issue with any single slot, as I had already tried switching to the 2 unused slots and still had problems before. But I will try both of those, thanks.
Spit-wad is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
memtest86+ Odd test results Bad ram or slots? Patiszerg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 07-07-2009 09:31 PM
New F2 entry showed up in Hijack this cliffhucker Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 03-08-2008 02:23 PM
Memtest results Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-21-2007 02:00 PM
3d mark 05 results, bad or good with this spec? Hunt12 Overclocking and Modding 4 06-19-2006 04:17 PM
memtest 86+ results JoeTheIdiot Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 04-20-2005 03:54 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.