Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2012, 04:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

Your mobo has SATA 3Gb/s ports so you can utilize a 1st or 2nd gen SSD with it. A 3rd gen SSD will also work but your mobo won't allow it to perform at it's optimum level. However, if your memory controller (part of the mobo) is slowly dying I would buy a 3rd gen. SSD as your next mobo will probably support it.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 04:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

3rd gen meaning sata III?
which one's would you suggest

1 - Intel 320 80gb SSD $80 after ($50 rebate + $20 coupon) (+ tax on $130 for some) free ship @ Newegg - Slickdeals.net

2- 120GB OCZ Agility 3 2.5" SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) $123 After $30 rebate + Free shipping - Slickdeals.net

3- OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB Internal SATAII SSD $99.99AR - Slickdeals.net

I'm a noob when it comes to sdd, and i know i wanna switch to it eventually, i might even start a new build and leave this with my parents once i get married.
is 80gb enough for windows and applications? i usually install games and store stuff separately on a regular hdd.

is there a possible fix for the memory controller? or rma, if it's rma i won't even bother
plus should i just leave 4gb's in or take one out...
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 05:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

I would go with the Agility 3, it's the fastest and it's a 120GB.

You can try re-applying thermal paste to the NB heatsink, or you could also try rigging up a fan to blow on the NB, it might help.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 05:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

I thought Intel processors on socket 775, the processors had the memory controller built into them?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 05:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

The memory controller wasn't integrated into Intel cpu's until the LGA1156 and LGA1366.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
I thought Intel processors on socket 775, the processors had the memory controller built into them?
You're probably thinking of 939?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I would go with the Agility 3, it's the fastest and it's a 120GB.

You can try re-applying thermal paste to the NB heatsink, or you could also try rigging up a fan to blow on the NB, it might help.
should i worry about 3 year warranty vs 5 with intel? plus isn't intel the best?
its 80$ vs $125...

and about applying thermal paste...is this a temperature problem?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

Intel has had there share of ssd problems and their not the fastest, so I don't see how they could be the best. No one knows how long the actual life cycle of a ssd is, I have a 1st gen Agility and Vertex and they are still working great after 2-1/2 almost 3 years. Will they last for 10 more years? Who knows but right now there is not enough data to say whose drive will last the longest. What I do know is I have and or tested and gave away 7 OCZ drives of various models and I didn't have a problem with any of them and they are all still working.

I chose the Agility 3 over the Intel mainly because of the extra 40 GB's and then the speed, I chose the Agility 3 over the Patriot because of the speed.

It might be a heat problem.

Thinking more about your memory, what modules are you using? Are they all rated to run at the same Speed, Latencies and Voltages? Have you tried bumping up the DRAM Voltage a little when your using all of them?

I had a LGA 775 system that would run two sticks of DDR2 1150MHz just fine, but if I added two more sticks of the same memory it would only run at 1066MHz. I later found out that it was a limitation of my mobo.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
You're probably thinking of 939?
754 had it before 939, I was just thinking 755 was new enough that Intel had finally made the leap. Anyways, back to OT.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 09:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Memtest fails when installing more than 3gb of ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
3rd gen meaning sata III?
which one's would you suggest

1 - Intel 320 80gb SSD $80 after ($50 rebate + $20 coupon) (+ tax on $130 for some) free ship @ Newegg - Slickdeals.net

2- 120GB OCZ Agility 3 2.5" SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) $123 After $30 rebate + Free shipping - Slickdeals.net

3- OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB Internal SATAII SSD $99.99AR - Slickdeals.net

I'm a noob when it comes to sdd, and i know i wanna switch to it eventually, i might even start a new build and leave this with my parents once i get married.
is 80gb enough for windows and applications? i usually install games and store stuff separately on a regular hdd.

is there a possible fix for the memory controller? or rma, if it's rma i won't even bother
plus should i just leave 4gb's in or take one out...
I'd go with the Intel, they have the lowest failure rate of the major SSD manufacturers. I've seen far to many horror stories about the second generation Sandforce drives to buy one myself. Yes, the Agility is faster than the 320 Series but that difference won't have a perceptible impact in the vast majority of cases. The Crucial M4 and Samsung 830 are also good choices as far as reliability is concerned.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Passes Memtest But Causes Freezing? mm66554 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-15-2010 06:17 PM
RAM: 3GB vs 2GB page006 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 05-19-2008 07:26 PM
4GB or 3GB of RAM XDRoX New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-10-2008 01:34 AM
installing OS fails xbox122501 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 03-20-2008 08:58 PM
3GB of RAM Jewels New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-04-2007 01:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.