Memory Upgrade on Older PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2007, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Memory Upgrade on Older PC

Dell L1100r
1.1 ghz
originally shipped w/ 128M (ons stick) and Windows ME

upgraded two years ago to Windows XP pro and added 128M to open slot. Last week i purchased two 256M sticks. inserted, boot up fine, Bios recognizes 512M, crucials memory tester recognizes 512, but "system properties" only shows 256 and speed doesn't seem as improved as i would expect. furthermore, when i try to go back to old RAM (128 X 2) - same deal, BIOS sees 256 but system properties only sees 128!??? I have scoured the net for a solution with no luck. can you help!!!????
__________________

ymsbrocks is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

If you have an onboard video, it takes up a little bit of your system's memory.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
If you have an onboard video, it takes up a little bit of your system's memory.
I thought about that but it shouldn't take 256M should it?
ymsbrocks is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

Onboard can take up to 256mb of memory. I think sometimes more, if the onboard is more powerful.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Onboard can take up to 256mb of memory. I think sometimes more, if the onboard is more powerful.
is it not true that if this were the case it wouldn't even run with the original 128M?
ymsbrocks is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

Then it would just take up less.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Then it would just take up less.
i dunno. its taking exactly 256?

seems weird...
ymsbrocks is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

Onboard and Windows. The RAM used by these is deducted from the actual RAM. What it tells you is the free RAM available.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Memory Upgrade on Older PC

but when i had only 128 or 256 it said 128 or 256. so why the change now?
__________________

ymsbrocks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 05:57 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.