Memory Upgrade - eMachines W3506 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2011, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 6
Default Memory Upgrade - eMachines W3506

I know this is an ancient system, but I've been using it for a file server for a couple of years now and want to add more memory to it.

It currently has 512mb of pc4200 ram in a single stick. According to eMachines' site, the motherboard should be able to support up to 2gb of ram using 2 sticks. So, being the cheap miser that I am, I looked for some memory that would work and found that the cheapest wasn't pc4200, but rather pc5400. Fortunately, according to all the support forums, memory manufacturer websites, and wikipedia, ddr2 will simply run at the slower speed.

However, when my new memory arrived, I failed to get the computer to post. Since the computer still posted fine with the old memory (in either slot), and it failed to post with either stick (separate or together) with the new, I figured the ram was I sent it back. I just got my replacement ram with the same result: no post. Any thoughts on what I could do here?

Note: the motherboard is listed as an E210882, however that's worthless as the non-eMachines' version has four (dual-channel) memory slots available to it, whereas this one only has two (single-channel).

Gervahlt is offline  
Old 06-07-2011, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Memory Upgrade - eMachines W3506

I think that some board can only take one speed. In anotherwords, it can't clock it down. Might want to look at these 4200s. - CORSAIR 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model VS2GBKIT533D2

__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 6
Default Re: Memory Upgrade - eMachines W3506

Thank you. I'll try returning the ram to Newegg (for the second time) and purchasing the slower ram instead.
Gervahlt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Upgrade croSSeduP System Upgrades 4 11-16-2010 12:11 AM
Memory upgrade? scubapro69 System Upgrades 5 05-27-2008 09:37 PM
Memory Upgrade HELP!!! david15549 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-24-2007 06:40 PM
Emachines Upgrade theelement29 System Upgrades 7 04-19-2006 02:51 AM
OLD emachines question/upgrade neweyedeya18 System Upgrades 1 03-22-2006 11:01 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.