Memory Underclocked? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 08-26-2005, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie

Default Memory Underclocked?

I just got a 1 gig stick of Azen ram and it said it was 400Mhz, but when I look in CPU-Z it says its 200Mhz. See:
What is wrong? I do not have a second stick all I have is the 1 gig one. So it cannot be another stick underclocking it. Any ideas?

Old 08-26-2005, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned

Send a message via AIM to Flanker

Nope, its DDR 400, not 400MHz. DDR = Double Data Rate. The original frequency is 200MHz which is "doubled" to get DDR400. PC3200 is the same as DDR400.

I'm no expert on memory timings, but those look like horrible timings to me. I think you might've been ripped off, but I wouldn't go berserk on the seller on my account. I hope other people can confirm or debunk this.

Also, as far as I know, there is no Azen company that sells RAM.

Old 08-27-2005, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie

Uh, yea I think I'd like someone else to confirm this. Also I'm looking at the package right now and it says "Azen Ram" so yes it is made by Azen.
Old 08-27-2005, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Nope, its DDR 400, not 400MHz. DDR = Double Data Rate. The original frequency is 200MHz which is "doubled" to get DDR400. PC3200 is the same as DDR400.
I know I'm right about that part. There is no DDR memory right now that runs at 400MHz. DDR600 (300Mhz) is the max DDR memory goes, unless you overclock it higher, but even good quality DDR600 won't go to 400Mhz.

DDR2 is for Pentium 4s, that goes higher than 300Mhz, way higher. But as CPUz obviously confirms, you have DDR400 memory, not DDR2.