Memory or Mobo help needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2007, 08:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default Memory or Mobo help needed

Hi, I registered here a long time ago, but never really used the forums. I just read in here.

Anyways i have an older system that i built myself, built in 2004 but have since revamped it. I currently have a DFI LanParty Pro 875B board, with a P4 2.8ghz oc'd to 3.4, 320 gb WD Caviar SATA 16mb cache hdd, and 2 gigs of dual channel OCZ Platinum 2-3-2-5 CL2.5 ram.

I have not had any problems until i got that new ram. I have worked on it for a week now or so, but i came to the conclusion that while switching my ram i either messed up my memory bank somehow, or that my ram is bad. But anyways, i'll be playing Counter strike source for about 40 minutes and then BOOM, completely freezes. My headphones play some weird noises over and over, and then i can't do anything, ctrl-alt-del doesn't work, i can't soft restart the computer, i have to shut it down by holding the power button for 5 seconds. However, it only does this when i have the two gigs set up in dual channel, when i remove the stick that is in the 3rd bay and pair it with the first stick so i have the ram in bay 1-2, and run the computer in single channel mode, it doesn't happen.

Any advice on how to fix this? And can i run dual channel in bays 2-4? I haven't tried that yet, but it may do something if i can.

Thanks for your help,
Chris
__________________

cbo0485 is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Memory or Mobo help needed

Is your ram at the right voltage/timings? 2-3-3-5 is CL2 not 2.5

Check that the fans are working correctly and check the temperatures also.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default Re: Memory or Mobo help needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
Is your ram at the right voltage/timings? 2-3-3-5 is CL2 not 2.5

Check that the fans are working correctly and check the temperatures also.
it's 2-3-2-5 not 2-3-3-5. The temp is fine because it doesn't freeze at any other time when im in single channel.
cbo0485 is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default Re: Memory or Mobo help needed

, no one out there with any ideas or any clue as to what might have happened?
cbo0485 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade for my comp. MoBo, RAM, Cooling. cementshoes New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-30-2007 12:24 AM
memory appears full when it's not! shorinhio Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-29-2007 05:01 AM
Memory overlord20 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 03-28-2007 01:25 AM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.