Memory leaks? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 02:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Unhappy Memory leaks?

System:

Radeon 9800 pro sapphire 128 8x agp
512 ram kingston hyperX series dual channel ddr
MSI Neo-fsb MoBo
Lite on cd/rw drive
Sound Blaster live 24 bit
10/100 linksys ethernet card
P4 3Ghz
Logitech 5.1 surround X-530 speakers
5 total fans
ViewSonic G70f monitor

Whenever I play a game or watch a video, I am plauged by either a blue screen or a memory error.

I think I have isolated the problem to the ram.
I think this because when I removed one stick of ram, I could play my game or watch a video for longer. I am sending the ram back to get it replaced soon, but I want to know what you think.
The bluescreens are usually 0X0000008E, and the memory errors are "Memory could not be read".

Please help me, my dad is getting upset because I can only play games on the laptop, he complains because he bought me this computer. I really want to play half life 2 and gmod with the graphical strength of my computer.
__________________

uber is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

The error your getting is ID 0x0000008E (KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED) error. Here is the LINK

I hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

No, no it didn't help. And if what any of you say doesn't help, your concern is worthless to me.
uber is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 09:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's a memory error, so I'd either say it's your paging file settings, your RAM, your motherboard's memory controller. it might also be some corrupt files Windows uses to manage memory.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
it's a memory error, so I'd either say it's your paging file settings, your RAM, your motherboard's memory controller. it might also be some corrupt files Windows uses to manage memory.
Motherboard runs fine. I've tweaked the paging file, I just set it to system controlled so it might help. I've recently updated my service pack so we can eliminate corrupt windows files.
uber is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

did it start happening after you installed it?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uber
I've tweaked the paging file...
reset your paging file to standard specs...and let us know.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

I set it to system controlled and it didn't help. I'm getting an RMA on my kingston ram.
uber is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 09:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if it started happening after you installed the service pack, try uninstalling it and see if it works.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uber
... And if what any of you say doesn't help, your concern is worthless to me.
hmmm.....
__________________

uGek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.