Memory Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
pie
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default Memory Issues

Ok, so for a while ive been running 1 stick of 512DDR pc400 ram. Well, the other day I thought id pick up a second one. Now, since I got this, ive been experiancing game crashes ever 5-10 minutes or so. I ran memdiag and everything checkout out OK, but the crashes are still happening. I removed my original stick to test it out with the newer one i bought, and it seems to work fine. So I guess the issue is some compatability problem between the 2. But they are both the same type and I dont know what might be causing it.

Thanks
__________________

pie is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

What are the specs of the new RAM module?

Also, try a different DIMM slot on the motherboard.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Try Memtest86 it is alot more demanding. (as well as the different DIMM slots.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
pie
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Alright, just tried a few different combinations of slots, no luck with that

But when I ran Memtest86, I got 3 errors. Was too lazy to write it down, so heres a "screenshot" of the results.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...a/DSC01717.jpg
pie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.