Memory or hdd error, possibly psu? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2015, 08:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
Okay so I successfully updated the Kingston firmware, but I cannot for the life of me navigate PNY's website to find firmware. Upon some google searches others are saying they are having the same problems and that PNY pulled its firmware updates for America. Any ideas?

Thanks again man, I really appreciate it
SSD Firmware Update | PNY
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 11:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

So I downloaded both thinks. Within PNY drive utility i select the file to open but it never opens it and there's no button to click upgrade or open like the description says. not sure what the deal is.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 11:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

Is your drive listed as eligible for a firmware update?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 12:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

It was, but now it's not. I'm not sure if it updated or not.

But now that PNY drive is giving me other issues. I cannot access my steam folder, it says access is denied. When I run treesize it shows the my origin folder as only like 96 mg (not true as I have BF4 installed) and it shows the steamfolder with a lock and 0gb. (also shouldn't be true, as I preloaded Attila total war onto this drive).

Thanks again, and sorry for all this
Thresh25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 12:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
It was, but now it's not. I'm not sure if it updated or not.

But now that PNY drive is giving me other issues. I cannot access my steam folder, it says access is denied. When I run treesize it shows the my origin folder as only like 96 mg (not true as I have BF4 installed) and it shows the steamfolder with a lock and 0gb. (also shouldn't be true, as I preloaded Attila total war onto this drive).

Thanks again, and sorry for all this
ALWAYS do a backup when you suspect a failing HDD/ SSD.. I see noone has advised this yet..
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 02:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
It was, but now it's not. I'm not sure if it updated or not.

But now that PNY drive is giving me other issues. I cannot access my steam folder, it says access is denied. When I run treesize it shows the my origin folder as only like 96 mg (not true as I have BF4 installed) and it shows the steamfolder with a lock and 0gb. (also shouldn't be true, as I preloaded Attila total war onto this drive).

Thanks again, and sorry for all this
Does Disk Management show the drive correctly at all?

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
ALWAYS do a backup when you suspect a failing HDD/ SSD.. I see noone has advised this yet..
Because prior to this, there was no indication of drive failure necessarily .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 04:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

When I go to my computer the drive shows up as normal, and it shows it as 76 gb free of 223gb. That would mean that it is recognizes the games i have installed as thats all that is on it
Thresh25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 10:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

I attempted to just format the drive, as there is nothing on there that I couldn't just reinstall, and now I dont have access to the drive at all.... please help!
Thresh25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 12:12 AM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

Get a GParted LiveCD, boot off of it, and format it through the bootable environment.

Sent from my HTC One
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 04:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Memory or hdd error, possibly psu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Does Disk Management show the drive correctly at all?



Because prior to this, there was no indication of drive failure necessarily .
Its kinda in the thread name, he feared it was a possibility of 3 things, 2nd being a HDD error... no worries maybe you missed that part.. were all humans!
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashing error, possibly due to OS and hardware compatabilities. helshanks Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-31-2010 03:05 PM
Memory Stick vs Memory Stick Pro vs Memory Stick Pro Duo jbc Digital Photography and Imaging 6 03-06-2010 09:47 AM
My Computer won't start, possibly PSU? Minfante25 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-25-2007 04:38 PM
Possibly overdrawing my PSU with a hungry video card? Drako Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-25-2006 01:46 PM
Can this PSU handle a 6800GS or possibly even a 7800GT? (pic inside) Solid Runner Overclocking and Modding 20 02-11-2006 11:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.