Memory Errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2009, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Memory Errors

I just got some new Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - Desktop Memory for my computer ( specs below ). When I first installed the ram my computer rebooted a few times. I'm not sure if this is normals its been awhile since I've installed ram on a computer. I decided I ought to run memtest. So I ran the latest version from Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool and it gave me a couple errors. I don't know anything about memory errors. If anyone could inform me what this means and what I need to do would be great. Not sure if it matters but I'll write down some of the numbers here.

Failing Address: 0006047e0c4 Good: 1540.8MB Bad: 0487760b
Failing Address: 0004d47e0c4 Good: 1236.8MB Bad: 10e4fbea
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
ATI Radeon HD 3850
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (2 x 1gb)
Corsair 620hx PSU
Windows XP SP3 Home
Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Memory Errors

How long did you run Memtest? And were those the only 2 errors?
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 11:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Re: Memory Errors

I'm not sure how long it was. Maybe 1/2 an hour? Yeah those were the 2 errors.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
ATI Radeon HD 3850
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (2 x 1gb)
Corsair 620hx PSU
Windows XP SP3 Home
Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Memory Errors

Well, if it found errors that quick, I would say it's bad RAM. Did you change your BIOS settings from your old RAM, maybe that is the problem. Make sure it has the right timings/volts/frequency.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 03:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Memory Errors

I would run memtest overnight to make sure but your ram is probably messed up.

Are you overclocking it at all?
are the voltage and timings set correctly for it in bios?
Timing 5-5-5-15
Voltage 2.0V - 2.1V

at 1066.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Memory in New PC? Natalie105 System Upgrades 1 03-20-2009 04:32 AM
Using memory with different timings/voltages buckman341 System Upgrades 14 12-08-2008 05:48 PM
Decoding STOP Errors KSoD Official TF Tutorials 0 12-06-2008 11:06 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.