Memory error on startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2012, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Memory error on startup

I finished my secondary computer build today and when I start it I get 3 error beeps indicating a memory error.

This is the motherboard I'm using: ASRock > Products > 880GMH/USB3 R2.0

This is the RAM I'm using: Newegg.com - CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R

I know the RAM is good because it works fine in my i5 2500K setup. I'm not to familiar with AMD things but I was wondering if the RAM voltages could be the issue. I know that the voltage for the RAM I'm using is designed to run at 1.5v, which if I remember correctly is a sandy bridge thing. Could the ASRock motherboard I'm using require 1.65v RAM?

Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Memory error on startup

Your board does not require a certain voltage. Did you try different slots?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Memory error on startup

Yep, I've tried each slot on the board and I get the same error beeps each time.

EDIT: The actual beeps I'm getting are 3 short beeps that repeat forever.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-18-2012, 08:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Memory error on startup

That sounds similar to the three beeps of death is what I call it anyway. Are you sure that the MB can handle that amount of RAM? an I5 is a pretty powerful CPU and MB?
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Old 05-18-2012, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Memory error on startup

The board says it can handle up to 16GB of RAM so it shouldn't be an issue. I just ordered an updated BIOS chip that will hopefully fix my issue.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 03:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Memory error on startup

Hope it does lol cause I got nothing left in my brain that could get anywhere near solving this. *sigh* Will research about the issue and come back later
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 10:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Memory error on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
Hope it does lol cause I got nothing left in my brain that could get anywhere near solving this. *sigh* Will research about the issue and come back later
Your computer has memory problems. First check video. If video is working, you'll see an error message. If not, you have a parity error in your first 64K of memory. First check your RAM's. Reseat them and reboot. If this doesn't do it, the memory chips may be bad. You can try switching the first and second banks memory chips. First banks are the memory banks that your CPU finds its first 64K of base memory in. You'll need to consult your manual to see which bank is first. If all your memory tests good, you probably need to buy another motherboard.
3 Short Beeps

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
That ram right there, if the mobo does not like it, I recommend you give it something better and at a lower speed Like I told 35g700 last night.

If it had to be anything else I would start off with mushkin or normal DDR3 kingston ram.
Not all AM3 motherboards like handling what intel does at times. >_>
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 08:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Memory error on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-Techno-Thug View Post
Your computer has memory problems. First check video. If video is working, you'll see an error message. If not, you have a parity error in your first 64K of memory. First check your RAM's. Reseat them and reboot. If this doesn't do it, the memory chips may be bad. You can try switching the first and second banks memory chips. First banks are the memory banks that your CPU finds its first 64K of base memory in. You'll need to consult your manual to see which bank is first. If all your memory tests good, you probably need to buy another motherboard.
3 Short Beeps

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
That ram right there, if the mobo does not like it, I recommend you give it something better and at a lower speed Like I told 35g700 last night.

If it had to be anything else I would start off with mushkin or normal DDR3 kingston ram.
Not all AM3 motherboards like handling what intel does at times. >_>
Okay really need to do research.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Memory error on startup

My friend let me try his G.SKILL 2x2GB DDR3 RAM today and I still had the same issue. I'm really hoping the updated BIOS chip fixes the issue when it comes in.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 11:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Memory error on startup

Let us know what happens when the chip comes. I really think it might have something to do with the RAM chip itself but that is just one of my theories.
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TF2 Error - Memory read error RicoDirenzo PC Gaming 4 03-20-2009 09:04 AM
Error on startup carnageX Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-05-2007 12:45 AM
Startup ERROR cway Microsoft Windows and Software 5 09-15-2006 09:07 PM
Error on startup.... gill501 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 02-08-2005 04:09 PM
XP memory topping out on startup Bullit Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-03-2004 10:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.