memory confusion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2006, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default memory confusion

My question is why would a computer read a 256 memory stick as a 128? in the computer that im using now, i have (1) 128 and (1) 256 and the computer says that there is 352 mb of memory.

viperhottie5 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

Maybe because thats all the memory your computer can handle?

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

try switching thier locations. put the 256 where the 128 stick is.
tweek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.