Memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default Memory?

Ok I just bought 2 sticks of 1g Roswell and i had 512 roswell in my computer i put the two gigs in and then tried rebooting my computer and no picture would show up. can memory cause this? tried puting my 512 in alone again and still no picture was showing up i pulled out my graphic card cleanedit up a bit put it back in tried the other port and still no picture.
__________________

Racter is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

did you turn the power off on the computer before r/r the ram ?
leave the case open, when you push the button on the front does the fans spin ? do the lights come on on the front...also ceck the back of the power supply for an on / off switch, you may have hit that, this will be on the back of the pc by the power supply fan,
__________________

tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Yes the computer is running but there is no picture going to the monitor. Im just wondering if bad memory would do this or if its my graphics card again
Racter is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 03:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Default

Start the pc with no memory and see if you get long beeps, if not it could be video or worst case cpu/mobo
__________________
John Cambece
jcambece is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Nope no beeps just sists there thinking...
Racter is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Default

I guess make sure you pc speaker is connected and then try a new video card maybe even a different type...if you use agp try pci or vise-versa.
__________________
John Cambece
jcambece is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

turn off reseat the vid card
does the lamp stay yellow on the monitor or does it go green ?
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

I think i figured it out... i think its the ram i found little nicks on the pins... but then again i still cant get any picture when i have no memory plugged it WTF... this dostn make since it happen to me last time i updated my computer and i had to buy a whole new computer cause i couldnt figure it out. grr i put 2 new sticks of ram in and my Video Card dies... Kinda sounds stuiped to me
Racter is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

the light on the monitor stays yellow
Racter is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Ok one more time my main question is this

Can BAD memory (ram) or a burnt out memory slot (dunno if thats the case) cause there to be no picture to the monitor?
__________________

Racter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.