May have to format the hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2008, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default May have to format the hdd

My computer is getting really horrible. Whenever I try to play games, such as call of duty, things crash periodically, and it takes sooooo long to boot itself up and start my games. It's a real pain. If I format, is there anything that must be reinstalled besides the OS? I know I'm going to have to update my video card drivers and direct x, but I can't think of what else. Also, how long will this whole process take? One last thing, when doing this, is there any risk of the computer not working again. I've never done it before. Is it complicated?
__________________

Druid is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Drivers are first and formost. I would also get DX Runtimes Nov 08. I would get Silverlight, Browser of choice and thigns like that.

There is always a risk when formatting. The hard drive could be dying and cause a installation error, bad parts. But for the most part they go flawlessly. I have formatted and reinstalled OS's so much on my PC it isnt even funny anymore.

It isnt complicated at all. There are a couple fo guides i know of for each XP and VIsta.

Installing Windows Vista - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
Installing Windows XP - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

What does partiting mean, and how long does this take approximately? How long does the initial wipe take?
Druid is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Partitioning means taking one single hard drive and 'partitioning' (or separating) it into different segments. This way you can have one partition with Vista and the other with XP. Or one partition with your OS and the other with your files. While this won't save you if your hard drive fails (as all those partitions are on the same drive) it will save you the hassle if you have to reinstall the OS, as all your files can be put on the other partition.

Formatting a hard drive can take 30 minutes to a few hours depending on the size of the drive. Partioning a drive again depends on the size and how many partitions.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Partition - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The wipe can take as long as needed. A 20GB partition can be as fast as 30 minutes. A 320GB hard drive can be several hours. Just like Lex Said.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Well, I've got like 150 GB out of like 160 full, so it might take awhile. Can you only partition when you are reinstalling the OS? Lex said this will save me the hassle of reinstalling the OS, so if I can partition then format, that would be really nice. Prolly not though, right? If I can't, in future formating, will I be able to only format the parts without the OS if I choose? If I can do that, can I put other things like driver updates and such in the part with the OS so I don't have to redo those as well?
Druid is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Depending on the tools you can partition at any time. But since you got 150GB full it wouldnt make much sense to try and partition out the 10GB now.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 06:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Ok, so, this is going to sound dumb, but how do I start the format in the first place? Restart my pc and then hit that key? If I do choose to partition, I will make two parts and then all files will automatically save on the part that my OS isn't on? And because of this, I can format again later and not have to reinstall my OS, just clean off all the other files?
Druid is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Which method are you going to do? What software? We cant help unless you give us some info. Just asking if you restart and hit that key doesnt tell us anything that we can use to help you.

Plus i dont understand what you are asking.

If you choose to partition then the Windows install will go there. Files dont have to be saved there by default. You can choose where files download and get saved to per application.

By doing a partition doesnt mean you dont have to format and reinstall the OS. That just meant you can have your personal files seperate so that you dont have to back them up every time you format.

If you get a virus or corrupt a system file there is no getting around reinstalling the OS. Using partitions doesnt stop the OS from ever having to be reinstalled. It jsut helps keep things neater.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: May have to format the hdd

Use the Weindows disk...... Also ake sure you have your drivers handy for your network card ad such.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Format Zero'd out HDD Dempoi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-06-2008 12:06 AM
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
How can i format HDD sp855 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-24-2008 11:24 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
format HDD harley88 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-13-2007 07:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.