Maxtor harddrive wont format? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 10:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

how about a DOS boot disk and FDISK to delete the partition, then do a qucik format in diskmgmt.msc once you boot Windows again
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

you can get a bootdisk from www.bootdisk.com

use windows 98 oem
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

how can i delete a partition thats not there? there is nothing on it, its all unallocated space or so it says in partition magic. im completely stuck haha
Cidate is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:26 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if the partition has already been deleted, then go to start, run and run "diskmgmt.msc" (assuming you have 2000 or XP)
then format the drive (quick) using NTFS
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

It doesnt want to intialize :X
then it brings up an error saying:
"the operation did not complete. Check the system event log for more information on the error. Close the Disk Management console, then restart blah blah blah......"
Cidate is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:43 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe an error with your OS. maybe even with the ability to handle file systems.
do a repair-install by putting in your OS CD on boot, press enter at the first screen, press F8 to agree, then after it says "searching for previous versions of Microsoft Windows" press r
it will go and install the core parts of the OS, but keep your files and settings intact.
you will need to put in your CD key again too.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 11:46 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

im calling it quits haha
but ill be sticking around here for awhile nice people and community
thanks for all the help everyone
Cidate is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 04:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've used this tool from Seagate to format many different types of drives. It doesn't matter what brand. This tool never gave me any problems when lot's of others refused to work. Just like you are having now.

Seagate DiscWizard
Register "Use the example drive number"
You don't even need to put in your real info.

Here you go try this: http://support.seagate.com/dwregister
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.