Maxtor External HDD Unallocated? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2008, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

I just installed a fresh copy of windows xp pro. The hard drive was perfectly fine on the last installation. But now it is not showing up on My Computer but it is under disk management but is being shown as 'unallocated' space all of 279 GB of it. So I am wondering what the problem is and how it could just go from fine to not fine in a matter of a new xp installation. Is it something with the drivers? should I try reinstalling xp and see if that helps?

Thanks
__________________

bonoz is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

Does it work on another PC?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

Unfortunately that's the only PC I have with a firewire port. My laptop has one but it's one of those new 'mini' firewire ports. I am already running a recovery software and recovering my files, just in case.
bonoz is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 02:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

Unallocated Space means that the drive doesnt have a partition. So either the partition was lost or you have to update your chipset drivers.

If the partition was lost you will have to create a new one and then use Recovery Software to get your data back.

By any chance did you have the drive hooked up and on when you reinstalled XP?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Unallocated Space means that the drive doesnt have a partition. So either the partition was lost or you have to update your chipset drivers.

If the partition was lost you will have to create a new one and then use Recovery Software to get your data back.

By any chance did you have the drive hooked up and on when you reinstalled XP?
Yes, unfortunately, I did. And I am thinking that might be why. Regretting it.

What does that mean happened now?

Also, should I recover without creating a new partition or would I have better luck after I create a new partition and format?

It seems to me that the partition has been somehow 'changed' or 'deleted'.
bonoz is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

I would try using a Ubuntu or any other Linux LiveCD and checking it that way. Perhaps it's some bug with drivers or with XP. This way you can get a confirmation that something is indeed wrong.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
I would try using a Ubuntu or any other Linux LiveCD and checking it that way. Perhaps it's some bug with drivers or with XP. This way you can get a confirmation that something is indeed wrong.
I tried checking it out through Linux LiveCD and it would show up, however, when I clicked on it it said "could not mount the drive".

Also, what is the best recovery software out there?

and is there a firewire cable that goes from the big firewire plug to the new smaller ones?
bonoz is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 03:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

IF Linux cant mount the drive i would think that the partition tables have been messed up pretty good. It is never a good idea to have a external drive powered on while installing Windows. As you see it can cause issues. Even just powering it off will save you from this.

Remake the partition and try Pandora Recovery.

Pandora File Recovery - Find and recover deleted files of any type - free.

The firewire issue should just be a converter cable. Check local stores.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 04:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

I haven't run the firewire type but have reinstalled Windows while having the usb external drive here plugged and never lost anything. You more then likely deleted the original factory partition usually Fat32 off of the drive and need a tool like Active Undelete or another data recovery program to recover what you can before creating a new NTFS(advised for Windows users) partition.

Not all live Linux distros will see onto MS partitions on further note. The few like ubuntu more commonly seen used now and Knoppix live will see ready access if a partition is still there. Not being able to mount shows no partition found for mounting a logical drive.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 03:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Maxtor External HDD Unallocated?

There are many reasons an Ubuntu CD would not mount a drive. I've had it reject my drive simply because I disconnected it from Windows without shutting down or safely removing it. Try forcing a mount on it, see if it can mount it then.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.