Maxtor 200Gb Hard Drive Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2005, 05:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Maxtor 200Gb Hard Drive Problem

I have just purchased a new maxtor 200GB, however after installation and formatting the computer only seems to show 127Gb any ideas what the problem might be?
__________________

henspeed is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 06:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 132
Default

There are similiar threads posted regarding this same problem. In a nutshell, the manufacturer rounds off the storage numbers in a different manner from the CPU. In other words, the manufacturer claims that there is more space on the drive than there really is. Also, some OSs will not recognize drives that large automatically. I suggest that you look into the other threads describing this problem as I am really not the best at explaining this. Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Rig specs:
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Thermaltake Silent Pure-power 480W
P4 3.2Ghz (OC to 3.7Ghz)
ASUS P4P800E
1GB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
XFX 6800GT AGP (OC to 390Gpu / 1100Memory)
160GB Seagate 7200Rpm HD
Audigy 2 5.1 Sound Card
Plextor DVD Burner
56X CD/DVD-ROM drive
Igetshockedalot is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

How to enable 48-bit Logical Block Addressing support for ATAPI disk drives in Windows XP


this article should help
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Igetshockedalot
There are similiar threads posted regarding this same problem. In a nutshell, the manufacturer rounds off the storage numbers in a different manner from the CPU. In other words, the manufacturer claims that there is more space on the drive than there really is. Also, some OSs will not recognize drives that large automatically. I suggest that you look into the other threads describing this problem as I am really not the best at explaining this. Hope this helps.
Wrong. He should not be loosing 70g/b. A 200g should show 190 or so. 2000/XP will see that drive no problem. And i am sure that 98SE would too if configured.




What kind of motherboard so you have?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

After doing a little more research, installing service pack 1 or service pack 2 should solve the problem.

I guess Windows XP had a 137Gig limit, service pack 1 solved that problem.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.