Max internet speed. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2010, 08:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Max internet speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
n ftw :3
Indeed

Ya I get up to 55mbps of internet downspeed. Good but not 162 lol.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 08:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Max internet speed.

I don't have wireless. It says my connection (for number 3) is local area connection. And for number 4, my speed is 100Mbps. I noticed that the my sent and recieved numbers are considerably lower than yours. 36,000,000 sent and 914,000,000 recieved. Does that mean anything? Also, I have a Model 6100G modem from Verizon.
__________________

Ultracougar is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 08:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Max internet speed.

Ah... didn't think N was that fast.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 08:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Max internet speed.

The sent and received section is just a counter of sent and received packets since last dump. It has no true relevance to this issue unless it's been running awhile and still has lows counts.

What was the program? and like yami asked
Quote:
What speed have you paid for? 'highspeed' isn't very specific. Keep in mind that companies advertise the speeds as 'up to 4mb', so you're not always going to get full speed.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 08:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Max internet speed.

The program was Darthmod for empire total war. It's 1.27 GB large. Also, I have absolutely no idea what the internet was. I'm still in highschool. I know my dad purchased highspeed though. :/ I just don't know how high of a speed it's supposed to be, lmao. 80kb/s just seemed really low to me. I mean, compared to 55Mbps :O
Ultracougar is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 08:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Max internet speed.

eh, without getting into detail so no rules are broken.... I'm assuming you were using a p2p to get this "program"? Without knowing the isp and the projected speed we can't tell you much.

Quote:
Ah... didn't think N was that fast.
My N adapter has done the full 300mbps
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Max internet speed.

Erm... No.. Darthmod is a mod for empire total war. Totally legal. :P I've purchased the game. I dunno, It just seems extremely low for whats supposed to be highspeed. All of my downloads hover at about that speed, which just sucks.

Thanks for the help though.
Ultracougar is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Max internet speed.

as a quick test, goto www.speedtest.net and test out how fast your internet can be.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sniper_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 231
Default Re: Max internet speed.

well it could be an issue of where your downloading from. unless the other side has the upload speeds to support that connection then you wont get fast. try downloading from big websites like Microsoft and see what your speeds are like
__________________

__________________
`Core i7 950 || `Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Mobo
`Cooler Master V6 CPU Cooler || `G.Skill 1600Mhz 6gb DDr3
`Saphire Radeon HD 6870 1gb || `2x WD Caviar Black 640gb RAID 0
`Cooler Master HAF 922 || `Corsair 750HX PSU
Sniper_13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Router Connection Speed Prob (not signal strength or internet speed) hereticiv Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 04-26-2006 08:09 PM
Checking Internet Speed/ Download Speed/ Upload Speed JLKRMetallica Internet Software and Browsers 2 01-31-2006 01:34 AM
Please Help (Internet Speed) AntonOle Internet Software and Browsers 3 11-06-2005 07:49 PM
Will speed of router (11 mbps, 54mbps, or 108 mbps) affect speed if internet? Rawan AbuSalman Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 08-05-2005 04:35 PM
internet speed neversleeps Internet Software and Browsers 2 04-19-2004 03:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.